$79 5 wire O2 sensor - who has bought one? - Page 7 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 04:21 PM   #61
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Palmer View Post
Well, to be honest, we were just trying to help.

I don't think the issue is when the cel light comes on. The issue is that it wasn't coming on, before. Ya don't want to know, Ok.
Wait what? The old o2 wasn't coming on. The new o2 is coming on. The new o2 stops coming on when I turn the car off and jump start it. Sorry if I am being belligerent, I just feel like neither route will avail me, and I'm torn between stodgy know it all professionals and self empowered educated guessing amateurs. (That sounds mean, I don't mean it to be.) I am very appreciative of this forum. I think the sheer amount I post on here should be some testament to that. I'm just stressed out right now because the mechanic is such a douche. Given that, I do think he knows his stuff, given the sheer number of cars he's worked on and his experience. Anyway, sorry for coming across unappreciative. The other thing is, I just don't have much confidence in my self doing my own work on my car.
__________________

__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:22 PM   #62
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadziasman View Post
It's really weird how some VX's can use the $79 LAF sensor from Global-Automotive and some can't. Could it be that the Canadian ECU is set up differently than the 49 state ECU?

AND, it is always better if you are the mechanic. At least, you know who f***ed up and why!!!!! I wish "professional" mechanics had more training. I have had my share of headaches with them over the years.
I was thinking about this too (the first part). I really want to put my new ECU in and see if the o2 sensor will work better with the new ECU. Although I suppose there is no logic for why it would.
__________________

__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:23 PM   #63
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy View Post
I see your ecu...no need to pay someone to change it...

Looks like you need to put a paper clip in both pins of the smaller one.
Can I do any damage if that isn't correct?
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:25 PM   #64
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Well, it's really troublesome he cut the old o2 sensor up. I don't spose you like soldering? Hmmm... I would get the o2 sensor in there and swap the ecu and see if that does anything (I doubt it though) and then I would throw a **** fit at the people who sold you the o2 for your money back.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:25 PM   #65
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1993CivicVX View Post
Can I do any damage if that isn't correct?
If that is the only 2 pin plug dangling not plugged into it I would say I'm 99% sure it's the plug I think it should be. I've never seen any others down there.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:34 PM   #66
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
First thing I do is I turn the key to the on position, right?

I then take a metal paper clip right? Does it have to be metal or will an insulated one work? I bend it to make a U shape? I stick the two ends into either hole in that blue thingmajig?

Correct?

I then take my video camera and film the flashing lights and tell you guys what they did. And let you guys decipher. Thanks.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:37 PM   #67
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Metal is best, since it needs to conduct...might have to start the car, forget if it'll just flash in key on, but yea.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:43 PM   #68
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
48

I didn't get electrocuted and the car didn't blow up!

4 long and 8 short.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:45 PM   #69
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
SVOboy or anyone else have AIM?

IM me at chesterules if you like.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:46 PM   #70
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
See...you need to just get in there with small stuff and you gain more and more confidence, that's how I started...

Man, I completely forgot I put this online: http://crxmpg.com/obd1ecucodes.html

I love myself, , wish I had more time to make my site good...

Your sensor is bogus.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer help/suggestion waterboysh Fuelly Web Support and Community News 10 12-14-2012 04:38 PM
Synthetic Bad for the TSX rh77 General Fuel Topics 41 11-30-2006 01:02 PM
Hello GasSavers_scostanz Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 7 06-25-2006 08:37 PM
Conversion successful Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 12 05-18-2006 03:24 PM
If this don't get you pulled over then I don't know what will. (PICS) Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 13 04-12-2006 09:53 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.