Ca. O2 sensor vs Fed O2 sensor - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2010, 08:32 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Ca. O2 sensor vs Fed O2 sensor

Hello again!


Now, I bought my Vx last month and everything has been great up until now. I did however come across one tiny little problem- CODE 48!. Nothing serious right? Right! So anyway, I'm debating which one of the two O2 sensors I should go with. I have a 1992 CA. Vx which came with a 5 wire sensor, but from what I've read, it doesn't even have to correct ecu to require it. Down the road I do plan on converting it with a Fed Ecu, but right now times are tough. Am I going to be ok with the four wire? Please don't tell me I have to splice any wires or anything! I had planned on buying this one http://shop.oreillyauto.com/ProductD...pe=291&PTSet=A but am open to any other suggestions. I definitely don't want get the wrong one. Thank's in advance ladies and gents.
__________________

1819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 04:00 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
http://www.gassavers.org/showthread....310#post146310
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
imzjustplayin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 720
Country: United States
If you have a '92 VX with a 5 wire sensor, then you should use the 5 wire sensor, no way of getting around that.. Converting to 4 wire would be pretty difficult and a waste especially if you plan on swapping to a FED ECU which would give you lean burn. Just pony up the $$ for the O2 sensor and just be happy that a swap to a Federal ECU is going to be as easy as plug and play..
imzjustplayin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
you can get the OEM one HERE for less than the O'Reilly Auto price of the wrong one. and you won't have to splice any wires either.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomO View Post
you can get the OEM one HERE for less than the O'Reilly Auto price of the wrong one. and you won't have to splice any wires either.


I'm really grateful/thankful for the link and I hope you don't take this the wrong way, but is that a reputable site? Is that the EXACT sensor that I need? I've read so many horror stories about wrong/incompatible sensors that I wanna make sure I get the right one. Again, thank you very, VERY much.
1819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
There have been a couple on here and another site that have ordered from there and have had no troubles.

If you have the 5 wire O2 like you say, then you're set. Glad to help out.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 12:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomO View Post
There have been a couple on here and another site that have ordered from there and have had no troubles.

If you have the 5 wire O2 like you say, then you're set. Glad to help out.


Awesome. Ordering it right now.
1819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 12:18 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Ordered!
__________________

1819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lock nut removal tool? GasSavers_BEEF General Discussion (Off-Topic) 23 09-29-2008 06:53 PM
Goal achieved! baddog671 General Fuel Topics 15 07-10-2007 03:48 PM
New Japanese Crap Request Thread SVOboy General Discussion (Off-Topic) 10 07-01-2007 04:34 PM
Electric panel heaters GasSavers_JustMe General Discussion (Off-Topic) 0 01-03-2006 04:43 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.