Compression Test Q - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 05:13 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 228
Country: United States
Compression Test Q

I am going to do a compression check on my vx in the next couple days...its been a while since ive done it...and that was on a vw. I know how to take the plugs out, and i have the plug wrench.
Do you do a comp. test with the engine warm?
To keep the engine from starting do you just remove the distrib. cap?
I figure if there are any problems, i can have the mechanic look at the assoc. valves when he replaces the timing belt in a few days.
__________________

GasSavers_James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 05:37 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
Do it with the engine fully warmed up. You can just disconnect the wires from the spark plugs to keep the engine from starting. You will need an assistant to crank the engine while you check the compression.
__________________

__________________
northboundtrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 06:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
jwxr7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 291
Country: United States
I usually like to disconnect the primary side (low voltage) of the ignition coil for safety, and disable the fuel somehow (depends on the car), for mine I unhook the single fuel injector plug. You could pull a fuse on some cars for the fuel pump. I just don't like the thought of fuel dumping in the cylinders while testing . In most cases you are supposed to hold the throttle down while cranking for best results. Find specs for the normal psi you should be seeing too .
__________________
Best tank= 81.23 mpg on july 1st 2008
SAVE SOME GAS, SAVE THE WORLD!

jwxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 11:05 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
HERE is a good how-to for honda motors.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 228
Country: United States
thanks, i wouldnt have thought about the fuel injection or holding the petal to the floor! will give a try in the next couple days.
GasSavers_James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 03:49 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 228
Country: United States
Do I just disconnect fuse #12 (underhood) (ECU-ECM) (15 A) to disable the fuel injection?
GasSavers_James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 09:40 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
double check the link I posted above, but IIRC yes, that is the fuse that disables the ECU, thus disabling the Fuel Injection and Distributor.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 12:18 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
Yeah, the ECU fuse should take care of it. I like to unplug the 2 wire distributor connector as well, just to be safe. The two wires are ignition switched power for the coil, ignitor, ect. and the tachometer signal.
GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 12:41 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 228
Country: United States
I did the test. Looks like no problems right around 200 psi for each cylinder...
GasSavers_James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Sigifrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 135
Country: United States
Location: Illinois
James
The Info on your Low Roller mentions pizza pan wheels. I'd like to see a pic & maybe some info on how you attached them.

I wish my VX had the rub strips like yours!
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sigifrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ODO in km, wrong unit... ProDigit Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 10-19-2012 01:07 PM
Engine size?! DuckFeet Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-25-2012 10:58 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Metro from the Ozarks! GasSavers_Waterboy Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 2 08-19-2006 08:40 AM
Where to get parts? What parts do we need? Matt Timion Electric and Solar powered 11 09-19-2005 09:37 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.