D15Z1 Engine swap project log - Page 8 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 02:16 PM   #71
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Just redid all of my solders today on the engine harness. The liquid electrical tape was just not going to work.

I also wired up the ignitor (obd0 and obd1 have different plugs). I'm going to wait to wire up the distributor once the vehicle is in the car.

Tomorrow I'll finish the wiring and MAYBE get the engine back in if I have time. I'm going to use an engine mount from a obd1 engine in hopes that I won't have any problems.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 03:51 PM   #72
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
more pics please
__________________

__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 06:00 AM   #73
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Keep going Matt!

Check out my 5-spd conversion thread in a little while. I'll have pictures of how I yanked my engine.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 06:06 AM   #74
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaX
Keep going Matt!

Check out my 5-spd conversion thread in a little while. I'll have pictures of how I yanked my engine.
Thanks. I did more wiring last night. I'm essentially making my own harness after all is said and done. I'm wiring up an extra plug for easy engine removal in the future. It seems that doing wiring the right way is a PITA.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 06:49 AM   #75
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
It seems that doing wiring the right way is a PITA.
Definately. But the finished product is SO nice. Be sure to check out my thread in a little...you'll see how unnecessarily deep I'm diving into wiring, just so it looks stock and everything unplugs.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 06:57 AM   #76
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaX
Definately. But the finished product is SO nice. Be sure to check out my thread in a little...you'll see how unnecessarily deep I'm diving into wiring, just so it looks stock and everything unplugs.
I was just telling Compaq via IM that the plug I'm using isn't big enough. I'm going to have to go back to the junkyard today to find more wiring plugs and redo the ones I've already done.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:20 PM   #77
Registered Member
 
MakDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 200
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
I'll give you as much as possible. I started making my own harness a while ago for obd0->obd1, but I decided it was going to be easier to buy one pre-made from www.rywire.com. It cost $130 and has instructions that come with it.
I've checked the site, they sell an obd0-obd1 ECU conversion harness for $104 (w/o shipping) and a ECU/Distributor adapter/VTEC subharness for $190. Which one should I go for? I could probably make my own, but the shear hassle would keep me from getting this project rolling and end in frustration. If I got the ECU one what else is left to change over, assuming the engine I receive has all nec. sensors? Thanks, Mak
__________________
'85 CRX Si Original EW3 @ 254k...suck it Detroit
'89 CRX HF-Z1 ~ When haste is needed
'97 Civic DX Hatch ~ Formerly 600hp, now 0hp, soon 115hp.

MakDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:29 PM   #78
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakDiesel
I've checked the site, they sell an obd0-obd1 ECU conversion harness for $104 (w/o shipping) and a ECU/Distributor adapter/VTEC subharness for $190. Which one should I go for? I could probably make my own, but the shear hassle would keep me from getting this project rolling and end in frustration. If I got the ECU one what else is left to change over, assuming the engine I receive has all nec. sensors? Thanks, Mak
Personally, I say that if you've already got an ECU jumper harness, go buy (if you don't already have) a HELM manual (~$40) and do the rest of the wiring yourself.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:29 PM   #79
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 259
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
I usually go to the junkyards to practice part removal. I can totally screw up and it only cost the the $2 admission.
OMG. Dude that was funny. I almost choked to death on my coffee when I read that!
__________________
See my car here:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2452824

GasSavers_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:32 PM   #80
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakDiesel
I've checked the site, they sell an obd0-obd1 ECU conversion harness for $104 (w/o shipping) and a ECU/Distributor adapter/VTEC subharness for $190. Which one should I go for? I could probably make my own, but the shear hassle would keep me from getting this project rolling and end in frustration. If I got the ECU one what else is left to change over, assuming the engine I receive has all nec. sensors? Thanks, Mak
If you like wiring, just get the ECU harness. Just email ryan at rywire and he'll know what you'll need.

If you don't like wiring and you happen to have a spare d15z1 engine harness laying around (along with an extra harness for your car) I'd send them in and have them do all of the wiring for you. I believe the $190 item requires you to send in two harnesses and you'll get one back.

My engine came with all of the plugs and all had a good amount of wire on them.

Oh, you're also going to need an EGR control box, which is unique to the VX. You can get them for about $20 on honda-tech.

Your best bet is to email ryan and tell him what you have and to tell him what you want. Be certain to mention that you heard to use him b/c of this website.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gearbox dropdown greyed out; missing engines? synergist Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-05-2013 08:48 AM
Small issue with fuel entry, leading zero metalfan49 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-07-2013 08:08 AM
Total Liters recon9 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-17-2009 10:07 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
The Honda Fit GasSavers_DaX General Fuel Topics 54 05-13-2006 01:52 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.