ECTS showing 20*F below ambient at startup - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2008, 04:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 618
Country: United States
ECTS showing 20*F below ambient at startup

Since adding the scanguage to my car, I've noticed it ALWAYS reports CLOSED LOOP, perhaps this is the default setting because my car doesn't report this info, I'm not sure... but what I've noticed is say the ambient temp is 80*F, my coolant temp per the ScanGauge will show 60*F. If it's 65*F outside, coolant temp will show 45*F.

Does this sound like the coolant temp sensor (ECTS) is failing or is inaccurate? I've replaced the sensor twice before and the electrical connector has also been replaced. This is a common problem w/ Saturn's.

I'm wondering this also because I installed a new thermostat a month or so ago, and since then, the scangauge only shows roughly 170*F after warmup on a hot day, the dash needle isn't halfway, it's basically reading the same thing. I was going to replace the thermostat, but I'm wondering if the ECTS is at fault. Coolant has been flushed about 12k ago, and is clean and free of gunk.

I also never hear the fan turn on, but will cycle if A/C is used.

So it's like 4 problem all related to one another.
__________________

__________________
John
'09 Saturn Aura 2.4L
'94 Chevy Camaro Z28 (5.7L 6sp)
'96 Chevy C1500 (5.0L 5sp)
'08 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom
'01 KTM Duke 2
Project84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 05:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
The coolant temp could just be an OBD calibration issue, or it could be as you fear.

My VW only goes to open loop for a few seconds after a cold start, and during DFCO. Is the SL2 equipped with a wideband O2 sensor?
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 05:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 135
Country: United States
did you replace the correct coolant sensor? I think some cars have one sensor for the computer(that would give you a reading on your scanguage) and one sensor for the guage on the instrument cluster.
ffvben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Ratman667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 76
Country: United States
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffvben View Post
did you replace the correct coolant sensor? I think some cars have one sensor for the computer(that would give you a reading on your scanguage) and one sensor for the guage on the instrument cluster.
you are correct. OBD-II saturns have one sensore for the computer (two wires) and one for the guage (one wire). i know if you go to the dealership and ask for an ects, they will give you the two wire one. its the same part number for all s series saturns.
Ratman667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 07:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 618
Country: United States
Looks like you guys got me on this one... I replaced the two wire sensor which is prone to issues. It's on the driver's side of the head just below the EGR.... where is this other one? I thought I knew this car inside and out.... apparently not!

Never heard of it.
__________________
John
'09 Saturn Aura 2.4L
'94 Chevy Camaro Z28 (5.7L 6sp)
'96 Chevy C1500 (5.0L 5sp)
'08 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom
'01 KTM Duke 2
Project84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 07:32 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 217
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project84 View Post
Looks like you guys got me on this one... I replaced the two wire sensor which is prone to issues. It's on the driver's side of the head just below the EGR.... where is this other one? I thought I knew this car inside and out.... apparently not!

Never heard of it.
Do you have a Haynes or other shop manual?

I remember on my '93 SL2 there were 2 temp sensors, and can remember replacing both of them.

One was on the block. Having a senior moment...can't recall where the other one was.
dosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 02:16 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project84 View Post
Since adding the scanguage to my car, I've noticed it ALWAYS reports CLOSED LOOP...,.

I
So it's like 4 problem all related to one another.
I didnt know scangauge would work with an obd1

The 2-wire temp sensor should be as accurate as possible, the 1 wire sending unit is not so important

you replaced the stat with what ? find the stat's opening temp by pulling it off the car and checking it in a pan of hot water. (also the sensor) Compare those results with what Saturn says the engione needs. Todays cars use higher temp stats...
A stuck open stat will cause low temps. Make sure it opens and closes and is intalled correctly
__________________
1996 Protege DX- stock

Advice to readers of this board:
If you have an Automatic Transmission, then do not coast in Neutral.
grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 03:09 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by grey View Post
I didnt know scangauge would work with an obd1
His Saturn is a 1996.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 03:58 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 618
Country: United States
The new stat is a Napa part rated at factory temp. ECTS is also Napa sold as OE replacement.
__________________
John
'09 Saturn Aura 2.4L
'94 Chevy Camaro Z28 (5.7L 6sp)
'96 Chevy C1500 (5.0L 5sp)
'08 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom
'01 KTM Duke 2
Project84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 05:13 PM   #10
Member
 
Ratman667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 76
Country: United States
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project84 View Post
The new stat is a Napa part rated at factory temp. ECTS is also Napa sold as OE replacement.
correction on my previouse post. it was the OBD-I saturns that have two sensors. i just looked in the haynes. i had my information backwards.

and as for using aftermarket sensors, i will tell you first hand its not a good idea. i had a 1993 Sc2 for 4 years and had nothing but problems with the sensors from anywhere but the dealership. however, if you are too far from a dealership to make the trip. (the part is only about $5, so more that a few miles isn't worth it, IMO) male sure that the sensor is make of brass and not the resin type.
__________________

Ratman667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N600 vs. VW Bug? Matt Timion Electric and Solar powered 23 04-22-2006 12:24 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.