Engine ~shake~! - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2007, 06:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
89Metro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Country: United States
Engine ~shake~!

I just bought a 89 Geo Metro Lsi for $600.00 US. There's a little front end damage, mostly cosmetic.

I'm looking for feedback on this symptom.... When I start the car it ~shakes~, almost like it's idling fast and rough. I pop the hood and look at the engine and the engine dosen't seem to be shaking. My guess, there's a bad motor mount?

I'm waiting for my Haynes manaul to arrive to make sure I order the correct mounts. In the meantime the only place on line I've found to order the mount si from http://www.geoautoparts.com . Anyone ever order from here?

Any feedback will be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
The Search for the Good Life is the Good Life.
89Metro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:11 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
jwxr7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 291
Country: United States
Quote:
When I start the car it ~shakes~, almost like it's idling fast and rough.
Mine shakes pretty good too, but only when it is idling low. Mine also has front end damage. It seems to have affected the PS motor mount location on mine though. New rubber in my case should help, but I didn't know if that was just the way these 3 cyls idle. Plus I haven't checked my idle rpms to see if they are normal.
I've never ordered from the link you supplied, but looks like a good place to find hard to get parts for geos. I've been lucky enough to find parts at the local junkyard.
__________________

__________________
Best tank= 81.23 mpg on july 1st 2008
SAVE SOME GAS, SAVE THE WORLD!

jwxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 03:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
89Metro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Country: United States
Update!

So I was able to get out and snap a picture of the motor mount in question, it's the front one passenger side right behind the headlight.


Here's where I get confused, I looked up the part on the website above and they show this guy as the mount???


HELP!!!!
__________________
The Search for the Good Life is the Good Life.
89Metro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 03:40 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
How badly is it shaking?

My first Firefly had a shake in it too (hey, it's 3 cylinders, right?) but only when it idled low. When it was hot (e.g. after a highway run), it would only idle in the low 700 RPM range.

When it was rough, the gear selector would flop side to side a little (in neutral).
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 04:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
89Metro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Country: United States
Yeah, it's "tweaked" alright...lol I think from the front end fender bender it was in. I'm starting to wonder if it's even the orginal engine.

I'm hoping someone else wiht the same year Metro can confirm the engine mount/bracket. My Haynes manual should be here by the end of the week and I can check that. Then it will most likely be off to NAPA and hope they can find me one.
__________________
The Search for the Good Life is the Good Life.
89Metro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 04:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
BTW - how would you know if a mount is shot? Can you tell by looking at it?
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 04:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
If I'm not mistaken, the holes through the mount (black part) are oblong. If someone did replace the engine, they may not have taken the time to line the mount up straight, and there may still be some adjustment room in there.

Careful though: the engine bracket half of the mount is aluminum, and the bolts are steel. I broke off one of these bolts when I did my taller tranny upgrade, and had to drill it out & tap it.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 08:01 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
89Metro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG View Post
BTW - how would you know if a mount is shot? Can you tell by looking at it?
I can lift the engine (when it's not running) and there's a lot of play, I can see the bolt move up and down before it starts to push on the rubber mount and pick up the car... God I love this light little engine....lol

The other thing is when I start the car, sitting in the drivers seat, the steering wheel even shakes. I've got a new digi camera that does movies, I'll see if I can record it, upload to You Tube and post a link here so you can see and here what I am talking about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG View Post
If I'm not mistaken, the holes through the mount (black part) are oblong. If someone did replace the engine, they may not have taken the time to line the mount up straight, and there may still be some adjustment room in there.

Careful though: the engine bracket half of the mount is aluminum, and the bolts are steel. I broke off one of these bolts when I did my taller tranny upgrade, and had to drill it out & tap it.

Thnaks, I'll have to make sure and not reaf on anything too hard.
__________________
The Search for the Good Life is the Good Life.
89Metro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 08:23 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
The motor mount brackets shouldn't have any play in them, that you can feel by lifting or moving something. Generally what happens is that the rubber tears away, to a point where it won't come apart because of the bolts, but the motor is not isolated or held solidly. Most of the time I can't tell they are bad until I've taken them out and I can see them on all sides. They usually crack or tear along one side, while the other look's ok. If in doubt, I'd replace them, their pretty inexpensive.
Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 09:56 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
jwxr7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 291
Country: United States
Quote:
So I was able to get out and snap a picture of the motor mount in question, it's the front one passenger side right behind the headlight.
That is the same one I question on mine. Wow, your's looks like new compared to mine though . Mine is a little more tweaked too . maybe this summer I will look into fixing mine.
__________________

__________________
Best tank= 81.23 mpg on july 1st 2008
SAVE SOME GAS, SAVE THE WORLD!

jwxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More SMS Requests zbret Fuelly Web Support and Community News 16 02-03-2011 01:09 AM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
State of the Union address touches on "oil addiction." Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 31 02-06-2006 04:38 PM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM
vegpowered systems GasSavers_Diemaster Vegetable Oil and BioDiesel 2 09-08-2005 05:53 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.