Extended Warranties for older cars / US Fidelis - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Tech, Troubleshooting and Repair > General Maintenance and Repair
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 05-14-2009, 12:15 PM   #1
Registered Member

Extended Warranties for older cars / US Fidelis

Was wondering if anyone out there with an older car (or new car) has obtained an extended warranty through US Fidelis or other company and how is the service? Any info is appreciated.

LarryJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 12:57 PM   #2
Registered Member

i have zero experience w/ extended warranties but...

understand that the quality of cars has increased as the quality of service has decreased. i know of two consumer advocates, in 2 different areas of expertise, that discourage the purchase of them.

it is most difficult to get a claim paid w/ loopholes and such. so, manufacturer warranties are your best bet.

bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 02:24 PM   #3
Registered Member

Having run my own repair shop for 13 years, I always told the customer they were responisible for the repair bill. When the car left the bill had to be paid, no exceptions, unless I knew them and they made arrangements in advance.

Personally I think extended warrantees are a crock. They take your money and when it comes time to pay it out they find a way to weasel their way out of the payout. They have attorneys write the contract so they can reject your claim for hundreds of reasons.

Will the warantee company even be there when you make the claim?

At the very least I would read their contract microscopically, and highlight any portion you do not understand perfectly, and require a written response to your concerns.

regards
gary
Old 05-14-2009, 04:36 PM   #4
Site Team / Moderator