Hacking a Renix Jeep Cruise Control - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 11:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 101
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Raccoonjoe Send a message via MSN to Raccoonjoe Send a message via Yahoo to Raccoonjoe
To the wiring experts......modifying factory CC

OK folks, here's the scoop:

I've been tossing around the idea of modifying the factory cruise so that it becomes a throttle lock, as opposed to a speed lock. In order to do this, I'm going to need to muck around in the wiring. Attached are 2 wiring diagrams, straight from the FSM, hot from the photocopier at the local Jeep dealer....

According to the diagrams, the only wire I should need to disconnect would be the one from the VSS, correct?? This *should* allow me to set the cruise at my desired speed (since I don't have SGII to tattle on TPS readings), and leave it there until I touch the brake pedal. The brakes should still disable the cruise.

Does this make any sense to you folks, or am I just blowing sunshine up my proverbial skirt??

**edit -- follow the links to see the photos
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u...eepwiring1.jpg
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u...eepwiring2.jpg
__________________

__________________
Raccoonjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:54 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 101
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Raccoonjoe Send a message via MSN to Raccoonjoe Send a message via Yahoo to Raccoonjoe
Seems I've overlooked the previous thread (last week sometime) about the Saturn CC hack. Looks like I need to join in on that discussion.....
__________________

__________________
Raccoonjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 101
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Raccoonjoe Send a message via MSN to Raccoonjoe Send a message via Yahoo to Raccoonjoe
I sent a PM to rh77, hopefully he (or one of the other mods) can take care of the title issue for us.

As I read through the Saturn thread, then returned to study my diagrams some more....They are not as similar as I was initially hoping. I'm sure there's somewhere out there who is better at the wiring logic than me....the more ideas the merrier
__________________
Raccoonjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:47 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 513
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_Red
On the TJ the CC module is built in to the ECU so the wiring is a bit different. do you have the schematic for the CC servo plunger RJ? From my read of cfg83's post, the goal is to lock out the ECU from futzing with the plunger with effectively "locks" the throttle. So you want to splice into the leads the power the servo motor. I'll post up my schematic of it when I get home.

I don't think cutting the VSS signal would be a good idea since the VSS is used to let the computer know that the Jeep is moving faster than 35 mph and its safe to engage the CC. Else you might be able to engage the CC at any speed or not at all.
__________________
GasSavers_Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 513
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_Red
I found a online copy of my FSM, images attached. My guess is that you want to cut into V36 and V35 to prevent the ECU from activating the servo once the CC has been engaged.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cc.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	657   Click image for larger version

Name:	cc_pin_out.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	64.7 KB
ID:	658   Click image for larger version

Name:	ccx2.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	659  
__________________
GasSavers_Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 09:40 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 101
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Raccoonjoe Send a message via MSN to Raccoonjoe Send a message via Yahoo to Raccoonjoe
That's a good point you have, Red. I hadn't thought about the VSS enabling the CCM.

The difference between your CC and mine is rather significant. You've got the cruise built into your ECU, where the AMC/Renix engineers put mine in a totally separate unit.
__________________
Raccoonjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:26 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 513
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_Red
Yep, but knowing DCX, while the guts might get moved around, the circuit is the same. So there might be something close on yours.
__________________

__________________
GasSavers_Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More chart options gt1 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-12-2011 05:58 AM
Average fuel mileage line in the history graph? BDC Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-06-2009 01:07 AM
Comparison of Gas vs electric zpiloto Electric and Solar powered 21 04-18-2007 07:09 PM
Is there a website where I can look up... wehrd1 General Maintenance and Repair 3 04-18-2007 06:23 PM
Honda named 2007 Greenest Automaker Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 11 04-05-2007 08:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.