How to tell an XFi - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 08:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
How to tell an XFi

(XFi - this question's for you ... )

I've had several people ask me by email how to ID an XFi motor. Is there any easy way to do this? I suspect not.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:29 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
So the challenge then is: what would be the easiest way to know whether you were looking at an actual XFi, or a garden variety Metro with an XFi hatchback (badge) transplant?
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CoyoteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 230
Country: United States
Location: Southern WV
VIN number has MS instead of MR at the beginning. Only the XFi model had MS so that is one way to tell that it started out as an XFi. Doesn't mean it still has the factory motor though...
CoyoteX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:55 PM   #4
XFi
Registered Member
 
XFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 323
Country: United States
Spotting an XFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote X View Post
VIN number has MS instead of MR at the beginning. Only the XFi model had MS so that is one way to tell that it started out as an XFi. Doesn't mean it still has the factory motor though...
Coyote X is correct. The VIN starts out 2c1ms instead of 2c1mr. I never compared engine or trans casting numbers to check for differences.

All the items MetroMPG listed are correct, but the throttle body is the same as the automatics instead of the base 5spd (couldn't tell by looking). Don't forget the flat black upper bumper cover trim too (instead of the body color).

Don't discount it as NOT and XFi if it has A/C. I've seen a few XFi's with dealer installed A/C.
__________________
--------------
XFi

Join us for the November 22, 2008 Pennsylvania Meet at Cabela's!
http://www.gassavers.org/showthread....634#post121634
XFi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 04:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Id an unmodified XFI from a distance by the paint.

The 92-94 Geo Metro Xfi's had unpainted black plastic bumper lids.
I'm not sure I am using the right terminology but part of the bumper on the garden variety metros where painted the same color as the body whereas the Xfi was unpainted black plastic.
BrianR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 08:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,325
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_Ryland
At the Auto parts store they told me that there is a modle of Geo Metro that takes a 5 wire o2 sensor, or simalerly exspensive o2 sensor, it came up when they quoted me the price for the vx.
I would think that there would be something on the under hood sticker that would tip you off to differnces as well, but not having an xfi I can't say.
GasSavers_Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 05:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
I'm pretty sure I once did an XFi vx non-XFi O2 sensor lookup at rockauto.com and the same part number came up for both cars.

Not saying that's definitive, but there you go.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 05:03 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 557
Country: United States
Ooookay....So I have this XFi engine, ECU, instrument cluster and engine wiring harness. The donor car has since gone to the crusher. I have no VIN, no black bumper, obviously no pass side mirror, no A/C compressor, and no transaxle for ratio calculations.
IF I choose to sell this, how can a prospective buyer be assured that it is of XFi origin?
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 05:08 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
If I were shopping for such a thing and could inspect it in person, a relatively easy thing I would do is measure the cam lobes. Doesn't prove that the cam wasn't installed in a regular Metro engine though. And it's harder to check for only 2 piston rings.

I imagine there must also be something identifying the ECU as unique to the XFi (part no.?), but I don't know for sure.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 05:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 358
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to baddog671
I thought XFi block was aluminum? Maybe I made that up though...

Anyone confirm this?
__________________

__________________
baddog671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
engine start / stop button question lunarhighway Experiments, Modifications and DIY 26 09-26-2007 07:58 AM
gas log CarNutCertified General Fuel Topics 4 05-23-2007 07:48 AM
Just got back from Hybridfest krousdb General Fuel Topics 8 07-25-2006 07:08 PM
Saturn has died! (at least for now) diamondlarry General Discussion (Off-Topic) 73 07-01-2006 05:27 PM
470mpg motorcycle in real world tests GasSavers_Ryland Automotive News, Articles and Products 2 05-02-2006 07:04 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.