Installed 195F Coolant Thermostat ... Reset ECU? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2006, 02:47 PM   #1
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
Installed 195F Coolant Thermostat ... Reset ECU?

Hello -

My mechanic just installed a higher temperature thermostat for me. Should I disconnect the battery in order to allow the computer to generate new defaults?

Thanks,

CarloSW2
__________________

__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
omgwtfbyobbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,516
Country: United States
Not really sure about whether it needs to be done, but there should be a fuse you pul and leave out for a minute or so (actually more like 30s) to reset your ECU.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
I think if i could get that type of FE i would have no problem driving a dildo shaped car.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
I always heard...

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtfbyobbq
Not really sure about whether it needs to be done, but there should be a fuse you pul and leave out for a minute or so (actually more like 30s) to reset your ECU.
I always, after every mod folks recommend to reset the ECU. One method is to disconnect the negative battery terminal for a half-hour, or locate the ECU fuse and remove it for a duration (prob half-hour). I usually do the battery, but the drawback is:

1. You lose your radio presets
2. If you have an adaptive automatic transmission, sometimes it has to relearn your driving style.

ECU Fuse: Drawback: finding the right one and pulling it.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Current auto transmission are reset separately. SO resetting the ecu will do nothing to your transmission. Only affects engine. If you want to reset the transmission then reset the tcu.
__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:32 PM   #5
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
Current auto transmission are reset separately. SO resetting the ecu will do nothing to your transmission. Only affects engine. If you want to reset the transmission then reset the tcu.
Are you implying that the automatic transmission has a mind of it's own? You DO realize that it's controlled by the ECU, right?
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Are you implying that the automatic transmission has a mind of it's own? You DO realize that it's controlled by the ECU, right?
yes it has a mind of it's own. the TCU is more in charge of the transmission.
__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:39 PM   #7
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
yes it has a mind of it's own. the TCU is more in charge of the transmission.
Man, the Texas Christian University (TCU) has it's hands in everything, doesn't it?
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:43 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
Ok Data!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compaq888
yes it has a mind of it's own. the TCU is more in charge of the transmission.
I need a schematic, link, data, etc. Shouldn't the ECU be the "Boss" over all the control "Departments" and the TCU be the "Supervisor" over the transmission. The boss gets busted for fraud and inefficiency. Turns out the TCU was in on the job. Fire the boss, and the TCU goes down with it.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:44 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Man, the Texas Christian University (TCU) has it's hands in everything, doesn't it?
I knew there had to be a higher power over the automatic transmission! That thing just can't work without some divine intervention.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 11:10 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 541
Country: United States
Hi cfg83

I dont think its needed to reset the computer.
Within a short time it will have addapted to the new temp.
__________________

onegammyleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.