is this a d15z1?? (JDM d15b) - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 08:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 55
Country: United States
is this a d15z1?? (JDM d15b)

just got this in the mail today (yipee!)...but I hesitated when I saw this on the block:

"HM
D15B
7603434
1
95"

I was told that this was one of those JDM imported engines and was a d15z1...just wanting confirmation that this is the real deal!

Here's a pics of the engine (it looks to be the correct valve cover and exhaust manifold...so I'm assuming it's the d15z1)



from post #4 in (http://www.gassavers.org/showthread.php?t=5770) :
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion View Post
once again, there are three JDM d15b engines.

There is one that is the EXACT same as the d15z1

There is one that is a normal Vtec engine like the d16z6

and there is one that is the is three-stage vtec engine, offering the best of both worlds.

thanks for any help!!
__________________

first350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 09:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Looks like it from this pic.

Take a pic of the vtec solenoid (near the EGR valve mounted to the head). If it only has one solenoid, it's vtec-e. Also checking to see if it has roller rockers will tell you if it's the vtec-e instead of the vtec motor.
__________________

__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 10:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 55
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danronian View Post
Looks like it from this pic.

Take a pic of the vtec solenoid (near the EGR valve mounted to the head). If it only has one solenoid, it's vtec-e. Also checking to see if it has roller rockers will tell you if it's the vtec-e instead of the vtec motor.

thanks for the help!!!

I think this is the solenoid, right? (looks like there's only 1)



here's another shot w/ the intake manifold removed (what I beleive to be the solenoid is on the right side):

first350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 06:24 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
I can't see the pics at work, but look all around on the head and see if there is a P07 stamped or marked anywhere on there.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 07:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
Yes, that's the VTEC solenoid, but the statement earlier about VTEC and VTEC-E motors having a different number of solenoids is incorrect. Performance VTEC motors also have only one solenoid. To my knowledge, the only D-series motor with two solenoids is the two-stage VTEC D15B.
On the other hand, those intake ports look too small to be a performance-VTEC motor, so it probably is in fact a VTEC-E design.
Another thing I notice from those pics is that it appears someone has screwed a bolt in where the VTEC pressure switch should be. Maybe VTEC-E motors don't use one? Can a VX owner chime in?
GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 09:18 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobski View Post
Yes, that's the VTEC solenoid, but the statement earlier about VTEC and VTEC-E motors having a different number of solenoids is incorrect. Performance VTEC motors also have only one solenoid. To my knowledge, the only D-series motor with two solenoids is the two-stage VTEC D15B.
I was trying to make sure it wasn't the two-stage model. Thanks for the input.

It sure does appear to be a vtec-e motor.
__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 09:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 55
Country: United States
thanks guys...everything I've seen appears to point to a d15z1 engine, except for the "D15B" on the block itself...hopefully that's just the JDM-->USDM difference.

I should have the head off this Saturday, so hopefully that'll verify that it's a d15z1.
first350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 10:20 AM   #8
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
that's the d15z1... Japan just called it D15B, along with two other engines. the dead give aways are the "VTEC-E" on the top, as well as the smaller intake manifolid.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 10:25 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Taking the head off?

Are you rebuilding the motor? Or are you just doing it to replace the headgasket?
__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 10:34 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,325
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_Ryland
your throttle body intake looks a little bigger then I would have exspected, my vtec-e throttle body is around 2" where the flexable rubber connects to it.
most of the magic of the vtec is found under the valve cover, the 2nd set of valves ride on a rounder, insted of egg shaped lobe most of the time, then move a pin to lock it to the part of the rocker arm that is riding on a regular lobe to alow it to open the valve more, the higher performance vtec engines have all the valves ridding on regular looking lobes, and have an extra lobe that is even more aggressive for when you hit really high RPM, so if you take the valve cover off and a photo of the top side of the head then you can tell for sure.
__________________

GasSavers_Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there an ez way to get back to the dashboard? johnblue Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 12-11-2011 12:41 PM
I'm Alive! trebuchet03 General Fuel Topics 10 08-14-2007 08:53 PM
cuts in my rear bumper thisisntjared Aerodynamics 13 07-04-2006 04:50 PM
What is your favorite bulletin board software? Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 5 03-30-2006 05:43 PM
airflow - is more or less better? Matt Timion General Fuel Topics 14 10-01-2005 02:57 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.