JDM VTEC Solenoid has no oil pressure switch How do I wire it up - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2006, 01:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
JDM VTEC Solenoid has no oil pressure switch How do I wire it up

I have a JDM d15z1, i am installing in 88 civic sedan. I have a P07 Ecu and i just got the motor and found that the JDM VTEC Solenoid has no oil pressure switch. How do i wire it up? I already have a harness with both plugs on it, in other words i have the oil pressure plug wired up but i have no where to plug it in to. Is there a way to wire it up without a oil pressure switch and not get a check engine light?
__________________

8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 01:46 PM   #2
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
The oil pressure switch is not on the vtec solenoid. It is seperate



F = vtec solenoid
G = vtec oil pressure switch
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
You are right its not on the solenoid but it is on its own assembly that mounts to the engine with three screws. My engine has the assembly but it doesnt have what your engine has circled with G. It looks like the one below. I read somewhere that its not necessary but im not sure how to wire it up without it. I think that in japan not all cars have that switch because its not necessary, it is just a safety precaution.

8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 03:12 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
FormulaTwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 118
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to FormulaTwo
The japanese d15b did not come with an oil pressure switch.
You just simply bypass the switch on the ecu. By soldering 2 wires together for the solenoid. You could also use a gator clip.


Wire A4 (green/yellow) to d6 (light blue)
then run a wire from those 2 up to the wire coming off of your vtec solenoid

this is how it is wired up in my car and it works.
I am running a CX wiring harness.
I would recommend that if you are using a VX harness to go ahead and buy a vtec solenoid with 3 wires and just plug it in.
__________________
Order some golf shoes, otherwise we might never make it out of this place alive.

FormulaTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 03:29 PM   #5
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
The japanese d15b did not come with an oil pressure switch.
You just simply bypass the switch on the ecu. By soldering 2 wires together for the solenoid. You could also use a gator clip.
Im not sure what the wire pinouts were.
there is hope though.


let me look and i will post when i find it.
That's weird. My JDM d15b has an oil pressure switch (picture above)
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 03:32 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
FormulaTwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 118
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to FormulaTwo
heres one for $1
and $10 to ship it
on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/honda...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
Order some golf shoes, otherwise we might never make it out of this place alive.

FormulaTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 03:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
FormulaTwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 118
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to FormulaTwo
Not sure why honda did this. There are apparently 3 different JDM d15b's.

One which is basically a d15z1 vtec-E
another which has a 3 stage vtec.
and another performance oriented which is supposed to have some 120+ hp.

Although all stamped d15b.
__________________
Order some golf shoes, otherwise we might never make it out of this place alive.

FormulaTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 04:17 PM   #8
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
Not sure why honda did this. There are apparently 3 different JDM d15b's.

One which is basically a d15z1 vtec-E
another which has a 3 stage vtec.
and another performance oriented which is supposed to have some 120+ hp.

Although all stamped d15b.
yeah, and mine is the d15z1 version of the d15b...

anyway, perhaps I don't have the oil pressure switch, and that is part of my problem. If that's the case, then what in the world do i have it wired up to?
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:18 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
Matt, your engine does have the oil pressure switch. Its clearly there. Your problem is something else.

Thanks formulatwo, i think for now im just going to splice both wires into the solenoid like you said.
8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:22 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
Matt, what are those other things you labeled on the picture of the engine you put up?

Also, where is the knock sensor on that engine. i think its in the back.
__________________

8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where's the Jeep Wrangler forum? Revolution Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 04-16-2012 10:40 AM
Help! AlfieGT Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-23-2011 12:35 AM
Combined totals of all my vehicles? nizationpcs Fuelly Web Support and Community News 0 03-30-2009 07:41 AM
until the gaslog is back and running... thisisntjared General Discussion (Off-Topic) 23 05-29-2006 07:50 AM
Hi to everyone hawkgt647 Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 21 04-09-2006 09:11 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.