Paid SVOboy a visit! - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 07:40 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
the plug that the bulb plugs into? I didn't tell him that. I could swing by on the way to school or give him a call. What should I say specifically?
__________________

__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 07:43 PM   #12
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Just say that power for the low beams is getting to the bulb plug, so the problem is in the plug and not the switch, it is prolly just that the plug needs to be replaced. Also that it momentarily worked when being fiddled with. Prolly a lose contact or some corrosion or something.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 07:57 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
cool, thanks.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 09:27 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
On my VX, the one headlight plug was melted, and after looking for another in the junkyard for a while, I came to realize that this is a common problem for the 92-95 civics. I ended up just cleaning up the contacts, bending the "prongs" on the bulb, and the headlight has been working ever since.
__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 10:01 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
When you were looking for the vacume leak, you said you plugged the IACV off. Did you plug it off, on the intake, where it mounts, or did you plug the hose coming off of the air filter?

When I was chasing down the wandering idle it ended up being that the valve itself had something broken in the seat arrangement. The valve looked OK, actuated OK, and seemed to me like it was Ok. However, somewhere it was leaking air. I finally plugged off the hose from the intake and then it settled right down.
Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 10:59 AM   #16
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I put my hand inside the throttle body and stopped the air flow there... I don't think the iacv it busted, because air is definately getting in somewhere else...
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:07 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Well, the headlight ended up being a blown fuse-- so it's fixed. I stopped by at 1pm to see how the mechanic was doing. He hasn't figured out the idle problem yet, tho.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:11 AM   #18
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Haha, I prolly fixed the connection and then blew the fuse...shoulda checked it...
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:54 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
I seem to remember a member on here that said the source of his vacuum leak was a worn out grommet on the black reservoir box that the PCV system drains back into the backside (firewall side) of the block:

Part #2
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:56 AM   #20
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I think I checked that one...
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly? ?WTF? mpg readings are so low. electronumpty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 21 10-24-2013 08:05 PM
Fuel-Up tracking issue Gio26NJ Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 09-21-2012 10:41 AM
Average MPH instead of city/highway miles jg91 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-13-2011 03:31 AM
Using heavier viscosity oil to increase fuel economy? jamescartagena General Fuel Topics 66 08-21-2007 07:14 AM
EOC problems repete86 Transmissions and Running Gear 9 11-13-2006 09:52 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.