The speedometer quit on Vino 125 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2011, 06:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
The speedometer quit on Vino 125

Hi,

Having trouble finding information on speedometer problems with 2007 Yamaha Vino 125. It has 1500 miles on it.

I put lube in the top part of the cable, reconnected and unfastened the bottom part. It turns freely in one direction. If the cable is turned by hand there is no movement of the needle.

Would it be the cable or the gear box on the hub? Thank you very much. Bob
__________________

ba_50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 06:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

try hooking it up to a drill and spinning it. you probably can't spin it fast enough by hand to see a needle movement. I would still go easy on the drill and see if there is a little movement before really nailing it.

just my 2 cents
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEEF View Post
try hooking it up to a drill and spinning it. you probably can't spin it fast enough by hand to see a needle movement. I would still go easy on the drill and see if there is a little movement before really nailing it.

just my 2 cents
The cable turns CC from bottom view but not to the right. Do you know if using the drill in forward is the right direction? Maybe that is why I couldn't get a reading since I couldn't turn it more than 2".
ba_50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 10:36 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

my assumtion is that the cable has to sustain a certain speed or RPM to register on the gauge. I would think that you couldn't turn the cable (or fitting at the end of the cable) fast enough to really see a movement.

I would say to use a cordless drill (battery powered) and most of them have forward and reverse. I would say to match the direction with the direction that it moves freely. there is no point in intentionally breaking it. also, most hand held cordless drills will go slow if you press the trigger a little and will speed up as you increase pressure on the trigger.

if the cable is bound and can't be turned after a certain point, I would say you have a bad cable. I won't speculate farther than that since I am not there.

good luck, hope you get it fixed
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

I think it is a bad sign that the cable will only turn freely one way. Most vehicles will reverse the cable direction of rotation when the vehicle moves/is rolled backwards. The problem may be in the speedo head. Take the cable loose form the head and see it it will then turn freely in both directions. If not, then it is a cable problem (maybe the cable wires were breaking and fraying in the sheath).
GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:56 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik View Post
I think it is a bad sign that the cable will only turn freely one way. Most vehicles will reverse the cable direction of rotation when the vehicle moves/is rolled backwards. The problem may be in the speedo head. Take the cable loose form the head and see it it will then turn freely in both directions. If not, then it is a cable problem (maybe the cable wires were breaking and fraying in the sheath).
I disconnected both ends and the top turns one way but the bottom won't turn atl all without pliers. I pulled the top part out 1 or 2 inches and the bottom didn't move so maybe the cable is broke. Not sure what you mean't about the speedo head not working right. Would it have to be recalibrated? Bob
ba_50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 04:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

If the cable was OK, I was thinking that the speedo head might be locked up internally, but it sounds like your problem is that your cable is broken and frayed inside the sheath.

Your speedometer is likely fine- just replace the cable.
GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
theclencher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 542
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

The cable should turn freely in both directions. You should be able to give that cable a whirl by hand that is enough to make the speedo needle noticeably move. Sounds like you have a bad cable. Pull it out of the housing and inspect it and more than likely, replace it.
__________________
Tempo/Topaz:
Old EPA 23/33/27
New EPA 21/30/24

F150:
New EPA12/14/17

theclencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
benfrogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 450
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

The cable end/broken end of the cable will pull out of the casing if you tug on it (and it's broken!). Instead of spinning it, grab it with pliers and give it a tug away from the casing. Then you can be assured it's the cable not the speedo. When you re-mount the new one, make sure that it's routed in the proper location and doesn't have to make any extreme bends. That may be part of the reason it broke in the first place, possibly.
Bikebandit.com sells aftermarket/oem cables for bikes pretty cheap. Aftermarket would be the least expensive option, me thinks.
B
__________________
Check out my music!
Website:
http://simplydrumming.com
Youtube Channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/benfroggg?feature=mheehttp://simplydrumming.com
benfrogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:01 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Re: The speedometer quit on Vino 125

I got a new cable but I'm not quite sure how to replace it. Does the front shield come off by taking out the screws on the back? Thanks.
__________________

ba_50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My crx was rear ended seeodywhy General Fuel Topics 3 02-15-2010 06:17 PM
iphone experience bearmeister Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 02-10-2010 11:25 PM
WTB: 3 banger Metro in SoCal, running or not mustngr Wanted to Buy 1 01-25-2008 01:04 PM
XR-3 Triike => New Tri-Magnum? cfg83 Car Reviews 1 07-12-2007 05:30 PM
HI All! newbie GasSavers_Asif Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 2 06-05-2007 11:14 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.