VX Check Engine Light out of the Blue - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 10:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
VX Check Engine Light out of the Blue

I have a 95' VX with roughly 160K miles on it. It was converted to a 49-state car about 40K miles ago and has been running like a top ever since. No other engine mods. The learn burn historically has worked very well. I've taken reads off the ECU pins and it is within the recommended bounds. I checked the wiring and it appeared to be healthy.

Every once in a while I can feel the engine step in and out of lean burn. I've read that this is normal. This morning while driving into work the engine felt like it had made a slightly rougher than normal transition into lean burn. About ten seconds later the check engine light came on. The engine was still running well and the temp was nominal.

Does this perhaps suggest the O2 sensor is on the way out?

I arrived at work a few minutes later and turned the engine off and back on. The check engine light went away upon start-up.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
__________________

Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 09:52 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 76
Country: United States
What's the code. Jump the connector and find the code. Mine hesitated horribly in lean burn and a cheap ebay O2 sensor cured it.
__________________

seeodywhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
I have not messed with OBD1 in years. What connector do I need to jump to get the code(s)? The check engine light came back on. I suspect it may be a O2 sensor as well.
Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 09:48 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
http://www.gassavers.org/showpost.ph...9&postcount=14
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 03:14 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
Code 48

I checked the code and it is indeed Code 48. Four long blinks followed by eight quick ones.

What do you guys think of this L1H1 on ebay? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NTK-2...Q5fAccessories

$189.00 including shipping does not seem too bad for the sensor.

The O2 sensor was used when I got it so it isn't a surprise.
Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
I ordered the eBay sensor. It should be here in a couple of days. Hopefully it solves the issue!
Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 01:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
jadziasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 324
Country: United States
Ought to take care of your CEL. My VX had the same issue and a lightly used
L1H1 made my CEL 48 problem go away.
jadziasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:57 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
Clearing CEL Code

How do I clear the CEL 48 out of the computer? When I put the new sensor in it would be nice if there were no stored codes. Is it as easy as pulling the battery terminal off to cycle power or is there more to it?

Thanks!
Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 04:35 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
jadziasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 324
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wandering Albatross View Post
How do I clear the CEL 48 out of the computer? When I put the new sensor in it would be nice if there were no stored codes. Is it as easy as pulling the battery terminal off to cycle power or is there more to it?

Thanks!
You can disconnect the battery or remove the back up fuse for the ECU in the engine compartment fuse box by the battery for 15 seconds. Either way you will lose your radio presets. But you will have cleared all your CEL codes.

Do you have a helm manual on pdf? Comes in handy for questions like yours. I can provide the link to it if you want it. It's free.
jadziasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 81
Country: United States
Yeah if you could send me the info that would be very useful!

I'll keep everyone posted on if the O2 sensor fixes the issue.
__________________

Wandering Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Missing Fuelup jmonty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 05-27-2009 05:10 AM
The worst mileage ive been involved with Hockey4mnhs General Fuel Topics 12 02-15-2008 10:29 AM
New Member smccall Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 18 10-01-2007 11:48 AM
Supermid Arrives! 88HF General Fuel Topics 3 06-23-2007 02:53 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.