VX engine swap - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2007, 07:12 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 110
Country: United States
I'm getting closer to completing my swap. I have a 95 VX and a JDM D15B1 Vtech. It has a 1 wire O2.
I need to know how to wire the O2 and V-Tech to the P08 ECU.
It seems I'm missing a little of the harness. I have a section of the V-Tech connectors, but the other end has been cut off. There is an extra 5 wire plug from the chasis. Could this be it?

Schematics? Does Hanyes have em?
__________________

__________________
http://www.maxxgraphix.net
maxxgraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 07:19 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 110
Country: United States
I'm swapping in a D15B1 into a 95VX. It has the single wire O2 and 1 stage V-Tech. I'm using the P08 ECU. Everything should hook right up, just about.
My problem is that some of the V-Tech wires are gone. I have the section for the solenoids, but where does this connect into the chasis wires? There is a 5 wire plug left over. Could this be the V-Tech?
__________________

__________________
http://www.maxxgraphix.net
maxxgraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 07:31 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
93dagsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 103
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxxgraphix View Post
I'm getting closer to completing my swap. I have a 95 VX and a JDM D15B1 Vtech. It has a 1 wire O2.
I need to know how to wire the O2 and V-Tech to the P08 ECU.
It seems I'm missing a little of the harness. I have a section of the V-Tech connectors, but the other end has been cut off. There is an extra 5 wire plug from the chasis. Could this be it?

Schematics? Does Hanyes have em?
its vtec not v-tech, and jdm engines dont have a number at the end, if it was jdm it would simply be a d15b, b16a, b18c, etc.
__________________


http://consumerguideauto.howstuffwor...onda-civic.htm

stupid ricer... useless wings are for pinguins!
93dagsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:28 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
On that same note, the D15B1 is a USDM, non-VTEC engine, and a pretty craptastic one at that. It's the same engine as the dual-point injected D15B2 found in '88-91 Civic DX, LX, ect., but with an even milder cam, a restrictor plate, a reduced redline and a close-coupled catalyst. It can be found in the '88-91 Civic STD hatchback spitting out a whopping 70 hp.
GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 05:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 110
Country: United States
OK, sorry, it's NOT a D15B1, just a D15B VTEC. Not sure where I got the "1".

I found a wiring diagram for VTEC, seems you only need 3 wires.
Blk is ground from the oil switch.
Blue - Oil switch to ECU
Orange - VTEC Solenoid to ECU

Should match up with the VX harness right?

Now I have to find which wire of 5 O2 for a single wire O2.
__________________
http://www.maxxgraphix.net
maxxgraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 08:22 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxxgraphix View Post
OK, sorry, it's NOT a D15B1, just a D15B VTEC. Not sure where I got the "1".

I found a wiring diagram for VTEC, seems you only need 3 wires.
Blk is ground from the oil switch.
Blue - Oil switch to ECU
Orange - VTEC Solenoid to ECU

Should match up with the VX harness right?

Now I have to find which wire of 5 O2 for a single wire O2.
I don't think you want to convert to a single wire though, I believe that is only for the obd0 Hondas. You want to convert to the traditional obd1 4-wire o2 sensor I believe.
__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 09:28 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
The '92-95 Civic CX uses a 1-wire O2 IIRC. But yeah, OBD-1 setups generally use 4 wire sensors.
GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 05:33 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 110
Country: United States
A 1 wire O2 produces a voltage signal to the ECU. This is the way they all work anyway. If it has 4 wires, that's just a heater circuit to bring the sensor up to temp faster. End result is the same. The 5 wire has an additional sensor for lean burn that would be out of range of the traditional O2.

This D15B is a 1 wire O2. I'm not sure if a P08 ECU would even use the 4 wire. I'd be wasting my $.
__________________
http://www.maxxgraphix.net
maxxgraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 11:13 AM   #19
Member
 
78si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 69
Country: United States
THe JDM d15b vtec uses a 1 wire o2 sensor in conjuction with the P08 ecu. YOu can use a 4 wire 02 sensor but the other 3 wires are useless. The USDM p28 needs a 4 wire 02.
78si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 12:09 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
And just as a side note, a four wire O2 will heat up faster and allow the engine to obtain better FE. There are kits out there to run the heater portion of the 4 wire O2 if you don't want to run the Chipped P28 ECU.
__________________

__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gearbox dropdown greyed out; missing engines? synergist Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-05-2013 08:48 AM
Total Liters recon9 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-17-2009 10:07 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Hey people: enter your location in your profile please MetroMPG Fuelly Web Support and Community News 7 02-18-2007 08:58 AM
Let the games begin! Matt Timion General Fuel Topics 3 08-18-2006 08:22 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.