Would seafoam help clean this (pic inside)? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Tech, Troubleshooting and Repair > General Maintenance and Repair
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 03-03-2008, 01:55 PM   #1
rpm

Would seafoam help clean this (pic inside)?

This is a picture I took while checking the valve clearances on my Ford the other day:

I am no expert, but think it a little dirty. It also started lacking power recently.
In your opinion would Seafoam help or would it clean too much and increase oil consumption beyond reasonable levels?

It's a 1989 model with 183.000 Km (roughly 114.000 miles) on the clock.

Thanks for your input!

rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 02:14 PM   #2
Registered Member

I am a fan of the recently available "High Mileage" engine oils we can get over here now. They have both extra detergents and seal conditioners in. This means they can clean the motor up, and not make it leak. They also seem to improve oil consumption and leakage generally. I believe they also might have some additives in that more recent engines don't need, extra zinc for stopping slider cams scuffing for example, or that are more detrimental to recent higher density catalytic convertors, but older and non-cat systems are fine with.

Anyway, if you can find such a product in Portugal, it may well be worth trying.

I remember The RoadWarrior..To understand who he was, you have to go back to another time..the world was powered by the black fuel & the desert sprouted great cities..Gone now, swept away..two mighty warrior tribes went to war & touched off a blaze which engulfed them all. Without fuel, they were nothing..thundering machines sputtered & stopped..Only those mobile enough to scavenge, brutal enough to pillage would survive. The gangs took over the highways, ready to wage war for a tank of juice
GasSavers_RoadWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote