Car stopped moving - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2010, 08:27 PM   #21
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 427
Country: United States
could very well be a torque convertor or gear selector mechanism

have some one who knows what to look for inspect these parts...
when i blew a tranny there was a hole on the outside of it and i was beating the car the night before, also the fluid was also brown not red

oh yea ford's aka cad's are known for loose tranny gear selectors, ive seen some girls car roll down the street into another car, because of this, also my other friends ford slams when he puts it into gear, the cars are junk whadayaexpect? even new cads get bad ratings for being over priced however ford has hybrids and stuff and cars that handle better than cady sports cars of today, Focus RS for example
__________________

spotaneagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:31 PM   #22
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I would think that if the torque converter is so bad that the car won't move, that it has in turn damaged the transmission as well, and just replacing the torque converter will not fix the problem.
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 11:37 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_JoeBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 698
Country: United States
Also, since when I replace the transmission it'll probably be a junkyard unit, I'll probably replace the torque converter at the same time.
__________________
"We are forces of chaos and anarchy. Everything they say we are we are, and we are very proud of ourselves!" -- Jefferson Airplane

Dick Naugle says: 1. Prepare food fresh. 2. Serve customers fast. 3. Keep place clean.



GasSavers_JoeBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 04:56 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotaneagle View Post
oh yea ford's aka cad's are known for loose tranny gear selectors, ive seen some girls car roll down the street into another car, because of this, also my other friends ford slams when he puts it into gear, the cars are junk whadayaexpect? even new cads get bad ratings for being over priced however ford has hybrids and stuff and cars that handle better than cady sports cars of today, Focus RS for example
Cadillac is a GM brand. Ford's main luxury brand is Lincoln.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:54 AM   #25
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 427
Country: United States
snag my bad they have lincoln cadillac dealers maybe i was confused haha h

however it would not surpirse me to see a cadillac and a ford using the same gear selector lever in the 1990's was jeep a ford jeep swap? since theyre both in detroit you gotta expect them to borrow something, like the on the wheel pull in and move type gear selectors for Automatics, I know ford/mercury taurus, vic sucks for those bad.
spotaneagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 11:35 AM   #26
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Does it lock up the transmission when you put it in park? Doesn't that indicate that the bands are all working and the gears to the wheels are good if the wheels lock when put into park? I would say drop the pan and check for junk in the filter screens and that may tell you what let go. From my Scion chat group reading it seems that the automatic tranny is a lot simplier parts wise than a manual transmission but not as easy to repair.
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 12:00 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_JoeBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 698
Country: United States
Yes, it does lock the transmission when you put it in park. The parking pawl is still doing its job. The torque converter seems to still be working also. I'll probably be looking into a junkyard transmission soon...
__________________

__________________
"We are forces of chaos and anarchy. Everything they say we are we are, and we are very proud of ourselves!" -- Jefferson Airplane

Dick Naugle says: 1. Prepare food fresh. 2. Serve customers fast. 3. Keep place clean.



GasSavers_JoeBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
New cars don't get along with fuelly mlocklear Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 06-13-2009 04:27 AM
drivetrain resistance bagpipe goatee General Fuel Topics 9 09-14-2008 10:04 PM
Buford GA Noob GasSavers_rayjay Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 0 04-18-2008 04:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.