Ford Taraus trans. oil change ? HELP - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2007, 12:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
I just did my Ford, didn't drop the pan (as that only gets about 1/3 of it). I used the pump out method. Basically disconnect the quick connect line return line from the radiator (at least that is where mine was - just find a convenient place). Attach a bit of clear tubing to it and run that to the catch container. Start the engine, pump out 2-4 quarts (when you see air bubbles stop). Put the same amount of new fluid back in through the dip stick tube. Repeat process 3-4 times until you see new fluid being pumped out. If you always put in what you take out, you'll be pretty close to the right level. Reconnect the line where you tapped into it, check the levels and top off as necessary. All done, little mess. Ive seen a couple of posts about this method elsewhere. Google it for more detailed directions if you need/want to pursue this route.
__________________

jeffreymccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 12:31 PM   #12
ELF
Registered Member
 
ELF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 245
Country: United States
Get a oil pump or oil extractor, so you can just pump it out dip stick hole. Thats what I did on my sable. which has the same tranny. You can get about 4 quarts out at a time this way, replace with mobil 1 or scamzoil synthetic. Those trannys are hard on oil they get too hot and cook it. the syn will hold up much better.
__________________

__________________
ELF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 06:19 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Rstb88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Your model year Taurus should have a drain plug. The Taurus tranny get extremely hot so do not get it to running temperature before you change it or else it will scold you. I used Mobile 1 in my 1992 Taurus and it ran better than before, except that after that I burned up the clutch.
__________________
It just came to me about blogging lol. Its like an orgasm a few good shots and the rest is dribbles lol!
Rstb88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 08:30 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Country: United States
If you don't have a drain plug you will have to drop the pan so have a big pan to catch the mess. If there is a flat spot on the pan you can purchase an aftermarket drain plug from one of the performance outfits. You will be happy you did next time you go to change the oil. Be sure to use a torque wrench on your pan bolts on reinstallation, it will greatly reduce your chance of having a leak.
__________________

__________________
http://www.bestamericanoil.com
smay665949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where's the Jeep Wrangler forum? Revolution Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 04-16-2012 10:40 AM
Help! AlfieGT Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-23-2011 12:35 AM
Moving? landspeed General Fuel Topics 7 09-09-2007 02:24 AM
How far do you drive daily? OdieTurbo General Fuel Topics 56 03-31-2007 02:49 AM
Any advice for the college bound? SVOboy General Discussion (Off-Topic) 45 05-15-2006 01:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.