VX Cali to Fed conversion - No vtec-E! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 10-11-2010, 10:16 AM   #1
Registered Member

VX Cali to Fed conversion - No vtec-E!

Hello all,

I have been putting this off for 3 months now, but now I realize I need your help! The mechanics here in CA are dumbfounded and don't understand VTEC-E!

My 92 CA civic VX has been a fun project over the last few years, but I have not been able to get VTEC-E to work! Here is some history that may help out:

I bought the Civic with 150,000 miles. Shortly after the head blew and the transmission was grinding so I bought a Japanese replacement engine from Nippon Motors in LA. The engine was stamped D15B and the trans was a junkyard vx/cx replacement. I kept the same CA intake manifold and bought a new o2 sensor and p07-A00 (fed) ecm.

After I bought the ecm the car would stutter horribly with the throttle pushed down less than halfway. I have to give it way more gas to make it jump back to regular driving, and as soon as I shift up, it does the same thing unless I give it way more gas. It is impossible to drive this way. I thought that the ecm might be bad, so I bought another one and it is the same story.

I now have the stock CA ecm in there just so I can drive it. Is there something I'm missing? I average about 32-44 mpg. Please help!

Jttriesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 11:23 AM   #2
Registered Member

Re: VX Cali to Fed conversion - No vtec-E!