--- Who actually uses the tiprtonic ?? --- - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2008, 04:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
trautotuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Country: United States
http://www.gassavers.org/garage/view/1980

There it is and im adding and taking pictures of the grill block and vortekz next week as well as a lower front lip and clear side markers with white leds.
__________________

__________________
trautotuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:31 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
trautotuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Country: United States
I wonder how much gas I can save by converting to all Leds plus the 35Watt Hid lights???

1 mpg maybe? 2?! (it would be awesome if I could save 2mpg!)
__________________

__________________
trautotuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:37 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Country: United States
Triptronic rocks. the lower rpm's = much better mpg's. I can hold 5th at 30mph 35+ mph's.
malherbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:36 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 557
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
Is it even possible to truly lug a diesel? I'm pretty sure that lugging is when excessive load causes huge amounts of detonation.
Perhaps it can be adjusted with Vag-Com?
My screen name might give you a clue as to my own opinion on diesel low rpm / high load operation.
I need to perform some phrenology on the car's brains before I start diddling around. I don't want to jump in before knowing what I want to do and how to accomplish those goals. My prior diesels had at most two controllers, one for engine, one for air bags. This one has about 8 and most are inter-related. I would rather be cautious than impatient.
I have the Vag-Com (now renamed VC something something) and the most recent updates, but without any service / diagnosis documentation (awaiting delivery of the ELSA service package I ordered) I'm content with leaving the car as it is for now.
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Country: Canada
In the case of my 2004 MB E320 4-Matic, it only shifts to the 5th gear at or above 65 kmph (around 40 mph), so I often have to use the manual mode to up-shift (to the 5th gear) at 55-60 kmph (around 33.5-37 mph). I think it should help improve FE.
swng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 05:26 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
HondaTorneoSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
Country: United States
I use mine to shift earlier than the regular Auto will.

-Nate
__________________
GT "Avalanche 3.0" Bicylce: Miles 166.9
Honda Torneo Ave MPG 22.03

Total Cost w/ equip: $630.00
Gallons of Gas saved: 7.93
Total savings so far@4.06: $32.2

Balance... $597.80
HondaTorneoSiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:08 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Hoopster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by trautotuning View Post

On steep slopes, I can start in 2nd. (I dont do this in flat ground though since it takes more time to accelerate an thus more time to get up to speed and thus wastes more fuel).
I used to do this with my Mazda3 (2.3L) on flat ground and it worked great. I still couldn't get better than 29mpg highway so I'm happier overall with the Hyundai elantra.
__________________
What would Ron Paul do?
Hoopster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 01:27 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 557
Country: United States
See? That's what I expected from mine: the ability to select a gear.
I can't start from a stand-still in any gear but 1st.
Leaving the selector in manual mode does nothing to prevent downshifts as the car slows and rpm drops. Then, when accelerating from a stop again the silly thing will not shift out of 1st until red-line when it shifts to 2nd, or until I manually select the next gear(s), or I slide it back over to full auto mode.
The upshifts aren't my bug-bear, it's the unwanted downshifts that tick me off.
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 04:09 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
trautotuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lug_Nut View Post
It's the unwanted downshifts that tick me off.
Thats the thing, mine will not shift down unless you REALLY gun it, and that has never happened before even when passing other cars or going up hill.

I suppose it depends from car to car, or you could better control it with those automatic transmission computers which I do not know why auto people dont look more into that!! For autos I think its just as important as all those WAI and aero mods!
__________________
trautotuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 02:57 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_nkawtg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Country: United States
I use my TipTronic when on steep grades. I don't let the Automatic down-shift because I've discovered that letting it lub a bit gets better milage than down-shifting to a higher RPM.

2008 Toureg II V6
__________________

__________________
2008 Toureg II, V6, Campanella White
GasSavers_nkawtg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.