A shot with a mix... - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Diesels
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 03-09-2008, 01:26 PM   #11
Registered Member

I've been using used engine oil for a couple years...about 20,000 miles easy. I'd like a better filtration program from myself, but that's a matter of time an money. Regardless, it hasn't had me changing the fuel filter more, and I have no performance issues. The bus had 180k on it when I bought it, so it has wear on it as it is. Still, no problems.

I don't see why vegetable oil would harm anything. Rudolph diesel orginally used vegetable oil on his new engine, so...

I've started "spiking" my diesel with the new vegetable oil and a little gasoline since December. Not a lot of miles, but it has been very, very cold. No problems with starting or operation even at temperatures from -10F to 10F.

Next month, I start a lot of traveling. So, I'll know a little more then maybe about vegetable oil and gasoline.

Still looking for a source for cold pressed vegetable oils at a reasonable cost.

Old 03-09-2008, 01:26 PM   #12
Registered Member

And with diesel prices continuing to rise, used engine oil is becoming more and more valuable to me.

Old 03-09-2008, 07:21 PM   #13
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_Dust
You guys are talking about blending

http://biodiesel.infopop.cc/eve/foru...m/f/9751014871

http://www.frybrid.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4

and some interesting info for the engineer types

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...ighlight=water

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarbyWalters View Post
Well the vegetable oil will increase lubrication and the "gas" will act like a cetane booster (make the fuel easier to ignite)...so it might work, maybe.