coastdown hill - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 05:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO ZX2 View Post
Like sooo. . . . . ginormity???
That IS ginormous. I was thinking something like that, yes. Only in cardboard & duct tape in its testing form

Quote:
Originally Posted by brucepick View Post
Um, keep your pants on. Unfortunately removing the air dam would be a fair sized PITA.
That's too bad. Pants remain on. But if you do get a chance to compare it, go for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Palmer View Post
MetroMPG: I found where your test was done with the hatch full on open. I looked at the link and searched and I couldn't locate any test that was done with the hatch unlatched, but not raised. Was their a test with the hatch just cracked open, like with a broom handle or something?
No, that was Peakster's test, not mine.

Today I duplicated his - the hatch was wide open. I don't believe anyone's done a test with the hatch only unlatched & cracked open a little bit.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 08:20 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
CoyoteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 230
Country: United States
Location: Southern WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG View Post
Pantless Sven, we want data!
There's one other hill literally minutes from the house that I'm sure would coax upper 30's mph on the descent, but there's a railway crossing with brutal bumps and a traffic light in the run-out zone.
How about starting at the same spot on the hill and letting it coast down the hill to a certain spot and see what the speed is? Pick a road sign or tree or something before the tracks and see if you can get a good variance coasting down to that spot. That way you don't have to deal with the crossing and stuff. Also maybe try coming at the downhill run at speed to see if you can find a terminal velocity. If it is a long hill that should not be hard as long as you don't have to hit it at something like double the speed limit or whatever

The thing I always look for is a very consistent spot that I can go to one day to the next that always gives me the same speed/distance. So anything that would be more involved than removing a few screws to change I can do over a few days. The only thing I have seen that changes my distances on tests from one day to the next is really big temperature changes so if the temp changes by more than maybe 20 degrees F a day then the numbers wont be quite as good. The best way I have found is to pick a spot or a few spots and keep doing the test anytime you happen to be around there. This helps let you know if that spot has good repeatability for doing tests over the course of several days. Once you have a spot you know exactly how your car does consistently on, testing like this becomes way easier.
__________________

CoyoteX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 10:13 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
I don't think I'll be able to easily find terminal velocity on this hill - it's not long enough (and there isn't much of a "runway" before the top to build up speed either).
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 01:33 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,138
Country: United States
I wonder how repeatable your data is. Like if you ran three trials with the same settings, how close would your distances be? Hmm.
__________________
Bill in Houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 01:35 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
That's the key, isn't it?

Next time I try it, I'll be collecting data from multiple runs to answer that question.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:01 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Answer to that question:
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:05 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,138
Country: United States
Well, you could do a "control" run every couple of test runs, and then correct for any apparent improvement across runs. Know what I mean? Not ideal, but pretty defensible.
__________________
Bill in Houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:57 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Well, you know what? This "problem" could be an opportunity to do a test.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 11:42 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 191
Country: United States
I played a little with terminal velocity tests on hills and am thinking that I might get a more accurate test to test result by taking the acceleration factor completely out of it... by seeing what terminal velocity is "reduced" to rather than "increased" to. ie. hit the top of the hill faster than your expected terminal velocity and let aero (and RR) forces decelerate you to terminal velocity...

On paper it shouldn't make a difference but in practice you can hit close to terminal velocity at the top of the hill and get the reading for a much longer duration (than hitting the top at say 50 mph and seeing how high you speed gets by the bottom).

I have not tried it yet though... just seems to make the experiment a little more controllable and eliminates all factors other than aero and RR.
lca13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 04:52 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Removing variables is always good.

I need to make a chassis dynamometer to pre-warm my drivetrain.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
more fuel up options slineaudi Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-02-2010 03:11 AM
What have I gotten myself into? omgwtfbyobbq Motorcycles 7 07-18-2007 12:55 PM
Low Flow Shower head kickflipjr General Discussion (Off-Topic) 28 07-14-2007 08:26 AM
New in Fort Collins CO GasSavers_Steven Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 5 04-12-2007 02:34 PM
Need addresses of recently upgraded members Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 04-10-2007 06:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.