Rather confused... - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Aerodynamics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 10-28-2006, 08:14 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question Rather confused...

I'm still learning about aerodynamics, but I've been repeatly stumped when it comes to the rear of a car.
Which is actually better, the rounded corners like most cars, or the chopped off strait down rear that creates a kammback?
Or does it really depend on the cross-section of the car?

That being said, what the heck do I need to do to these rear corners to make less drag? Working with one panel at a time to make the design less aerodynamicly challenged. These are first.
Anything at all is possible, so hit me with the best ideas.

As it stand right now:

Pardon the mess. Er, I mean creative chaos.

nonnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 08:20 AM   #2
*shrug*

Have you seen the civic aerodynamics thread? The end model that basjoos is using is about optimal from my understanding.

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 08:30 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Which is actually better, the rounded corners like most cars, or the chopped off strait down rear that creates a kammback?
I've never been able to find a conclusive answer to that question myself.

EDIT: I'm assuming you're asking specifically about the specific side/rear corner/transition, as opposed to the general shape of the back of the car.

I've found contradictory answers as well. (Which might also just be me misunderstanding the particulars of the answers than them actually being contradictory.)

Your work looks interesting! Are you going to glass over the foam? What kind of foam is it? (I read somewhere that some kinds dissolve under the resin - I'll probably be doing something similar to make the permanent version of my partial Kammback .
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 08:35 AM   #4