Advanced Options - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2011, 01:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Location: Southeast, PA
Advanced Options

I know this has been discussed before, but I'm curious to know the status of adding "advanced options" such as drivetrain specifics (4x4, auto/manual,etc.)

btw - after reading older posts on the subject, I completely agree with your development approach as far as keeping it simple. So I understand your reasons for not adding it to this point.

Anyway, I figured it couldn't hurt to ask again

Thanks

M
__________________

mreinsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:45 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Our position on this hasn't changed. We're going to stay with keeping things simple. We have a FAQ entry on this now: Why don't you track more vehicle details?
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 10:20 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Country: Canada
couldn't you just add that info to car description?
crazzywolfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 12:18 PM   #4
AR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Country: Canada
it would be nice to have a towing option to track towing mileage.
AR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:25 AM   #5
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Thanks for the suggestion AR. We'll keep it in mind like we will the other things mentioned in the FAQ I linked to.

In the meantime you could estimate the amount of towing you do and add it as a note for each fuel-up. That way you'll be tracking the data for your own use.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 11:15 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Location: Boston MA
pb,

Initially, I thought that transmission type (Auto or Manual) would be a relatively simple feature to add. But after a few minutes of thought, I realize that would be

opening a can of worms - just for the 2010 Honda Civic

you'd have at least 3 or 4 transmission options.

While this would be nice info to have, I can see how it would quickly discourage a casual user of the service.

Thanks for keeping it simple ...

Dave
dslater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 03:29 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Location: Southeast, PA
That's what I'm going to do, Hopefully others will follow suit!

Great Site!

M
__________________

mreinsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.