Allow MPG option to help with partial fillups - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 06-22-2013, 11:14 PM   #1
Registered Member

Allow MPG option to help with partial fillups

I sometimes work in New Jersey where people aren't allowed to pump their own gas. The attendants hurry and you can easily be a gallon or more low. I live in NY, and every other fill up I can actually fill the tank.

I was disappointed that you don't calculate a graph MPG entry after the complete fill. I saw the other postings and your policy. I'm a web/database programmer, I wish you'd add a vehicle option to: calculate MPG on first complete fill after partial -- it would make things a lot easier.

Thanks.

jmurtari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:50 AM   #2
Site Team

Can you explain how the logic/math you are suggesting would work? For example, how would we know how many gallons and miles to use in the calculations?

The only way I can this of this might work would be as follows:

Miles since last full fill-up/(partial fill-up gallons + next full fill-up gallons)

I think above might work but obviously we would not be able to calculate an exact per fill-up MPG. We could simply divide by two and give you the average.

Does anyone see anything wrong with this suggest math?

andyrobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:20 AM   #3

I think all hes asking is lets say you have 5 fillups that look like this

1) full fillup. 300 miles 10 gallons = 30mpg

2) partial fillup. 100 miles 1 gallon = ?mpg

3) partial fillup. 150 miles 1.5 gallon = ?mpg

4) full fillup. 50 miles 7.5 gallons = ?mpg

5) full fillup. 200 miles 8 gallons = 25mpg

Fuelly will say it doesn't know the mpg for fill up number 4, which is technically correct. It does not know the mpg for that particular fillup. However, it could do (100 + 150 + 50) / (1 + 1.5 + 7.5) and display the mpg for fill up 4 as 30 mpg.