Filter by Imperial vs. U.S. Gallons? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2013, 06:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: California
Filter by Imperial vs. U.S. Gallons?

I was interested in checking out the average mpg of a VW Golf. I was surprised to see it so much higher than the U.S. EPA estimate. Then I realized that much of the data is coming from non-U.S. sources and that it may be reported as Imperial Gallons. Are the U.S. Gallons and Imperial Gallons mixed together when reporting? Or is there a filter to show the results in one vs. the other. If they are mixed, then I don't know how I could use the information I am getting.

Thanks!
__________________

bvz2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,486
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
Top left hand corner you can switch between US or UK gallons (or others) You will see all figures adjust accoedingly
__________________

__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:01 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,486
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
Oh and if the MPG'S are higher than expected, its due to a number of reasons. In Europe, I would guess that 75% of Golfs are diesel, 85% are manual transmission too. Combine that with higher emission regulations and more refined fuel, and its no wonder the fuel consumption is lower.

I think the Bluemotion Golf in Europe gets over 90 MPG.
__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: California
Aha. Thanks for pointing out the units up there. Never saw it.

Still, it would be nice to be able to filter by region. I tried to set the golf to be just gas engines using the filter, but there are several different gas engine choices, none of which I understand. If I were to be able to filter by fuel type AND region then I would be able to limit my results to those engine choices I know I can buy wherever I live. And as you mention, choice of transmission is also a relevant data point.

As an aside, right now when I try to filter the results down to 2012 Golf's and I set the engine type to Gas, I still get two TDI's listed (maybe the owners have just misclassified their cars).

Anyway, thanks for the help.
bvz2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 329
Country: United Kingdom
I did suggest a filter on 'all petrol' vs. 'all diesel' to avoid the wierd engine configuration stuff, but Fuelly like to keep their site as simple as possible so it was rejected.
MMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.