Fuelly and Twitter - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 07:33 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: portland Oregon
i am still not understanding how u feel this is "redundancy"

if your feeds included it .. people wouldnt have to do post prefix.. and for the ones who uses services that dont allowed post prefix adds it will just work..
__________________

BrianDivaCox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 08:22 AM   #12
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
It's redundant because if you subscribe to the feed in a standard feed reader, you see this:

------

Prius Fuel-up Log

The last 20 fuel-ups of Fuelly member pb's 2006 Toyota Prius.

47.6 MPG on July 09, 2009

Miles: 458.0

Gallons: 9.617

Price: $2.76

50.8 MPG on June 25, 2009

Miles: 419.0

Gallons: 8.255

Price: $2.80

etc...

------

Why repeat the car name with each post if it's in the title of the feed? We have to keep in mind that feeds have many uses--they're not solely used for posting to Twitter. So we can't act on every request to tune the feeds for a specific use.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:00 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: portland Oregon
hmm my RSS feed dont do that.. anyways okay easy fix get twitter linked for alerts ;-)
BrianDivaCox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:27 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Weybridge
With the RSS feed how can it be set to the current currency/fuel measurement for the vehicle ?

My car (squirrile) should be set to Pounds Sterling and use imperial gallons, but the rss feed gives $ and the smaller US gallons.
udtrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 03:20 AM   #15
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
We have a feed for metric units available by changing /rss to /metric-rss, but we don't have a feed set up for UK units. I'll post here again when I get that set up.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 03:36 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Weybridge
Cheers Paul
udtrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 05:01 AM   #17
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
ok, just added the /uk-rss option. As long as you have UK units set in the upper-left corner of the page, your feeds should link to the uk-units option.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:20 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Weybridge
Testing now :-)
udtrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 07:11 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Weybridge
Works fine, cheers Paul :-)
__________________

udtrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.