Fuelly Mobile Location Data - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2011, 04:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Location: Little Rock, AR
Fuelly Mobile Location Data

I've noticed that when I use the web app on my iPhone, the site requests my location data. Where is this used? When I first saw it, I thought "Cool, Fuelly keeps a record of where I am filling up." But I can't seem to find anywhere on the site where this data is listed. Is there an option to turn it on or is this an error?
__________________

xbadcrcx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:48 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
We added this a while back because we thought we would do something neat with the data, like show a map of your fuel-ups, but we haven't found a compelling use for the data yet. We've been talking about completely disabling location-gathering, and now might be a good time to revisit that.

So it's not an error, but it's also not very useful right now.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: Cupertino, CA
Glad someone brought this up because I had the same question.

Location-gathering is a feature on a fuel-economy app that I was on the verge of purchasing until I found this site. :-)

If you decide to add the ability to log trips, then location-gathering and displaying the locations on a map would be very interesting. For example, if someone make multiple trips between two points over different routes, the most fuel-efficient route could be tracked and recorded.
toomuchgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:22 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Location: Yosemite National Park, CA
I would love to see the location data mapped out somehow, or at least have the ability to download the saved data, as I've been saying "Allow" to that request for a long time now.

Would be a shame to waste it.
stevelyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 06:00 AM   #5
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
I added longitude and latitude to fuel-up exporting. So you can download the data and take a look at it at least.

We're still on the fence about collecting this data, but we're leaning toward doing away with it.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.