For Future Release Initial starting mileage - Fuelly Forums

Click here for important details on the Gas Cubby v3 Free Launch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2016, 01:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Location: Snellville, GA
Initial starting mileage

We just added a new 2017 vehicle our stable. What I didn't find was a place to put the starting mileage which was 14. Unless I put in an incomplete fill up with the vehicles starting mileage, I miss one full fill up. This is not only pertinent to brand new vehicles, but to used vehicles that people purchase.

Again, thanks for listening.
__________________

__________________
--Steve--

Best thing about riding -- no roaming charges!


Momma's:
ka5mte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 11:06 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,253
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
Are you using odometer reading or trip reading method? There is no initial input required, just fill up and either take note of the mileage then, if using odometer, then when you come to fuel up again, input your mileage and fuelly will do the calculations. Same with trip meter, reset when refuelling, take note of the miles driven next time you fill up. If you add 14 miles with no fuel as an "initial" fuel up, it will mess up other stats like "average miles per tank" etc.
__________________

__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 05:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,336
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
Inputting starting mileage without a fill up will lead to an error in the calculations. A full tank from a dealer isn't a courtesy everywhere, and the full tank that there might be might not actually full. Granted the impact of this error will lessen as fill ups are added.

A starting mileage entry will likely not change how odometer readings for the calculations change; the first one won't have a result, and is just form setting the start point.
trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 12:14 PM   #4
LDB
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Houston suburb
Posts: 207
Country: United States
Location: Friendswood, (Houston suburb)
When I get a new to me vehicle I go to the nearest station and fill it even if it's new from the dealer with a supposedly full tank. It may only take a few pints but at least I know I'm starting with a full tank. Then I reset the trip odometers and I'm set from then on. I input all my data from trip odometer miles since the last fill.
__________________
2016 Honda CR-V EX 2WD Mountain Air Metallic
LDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.