Issues with the MPG Average. - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2011, 09:23 AM   #1
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Issues with the MPG Average.

Question about the MPG overall average.... It seems, that if I manage to raise the average up, even only a tenth of a point, it never shows a difference, just a - .

For example, the last tank fill up shows the difference between it and the tank before it, but I never see a difference of the change with the overall MPG, even though I know it changed. Before my last fuel up it was 20.8, and now its 20.9, but you don't see a + 0.1 MPG gain, just a - as if there was no change.

I think your math governing this is assuming for a larger value than a tenth. May want to look into adjusting that, if at all possible. Not a big deal, but I just think it should be more accurate. True if you had no change in the MPG between the last fill up and the current fill up then yes it should show either a 0 or the - as it does now.

I have noticed it before, but thought I would bring it up today.

Thanks.
__________________

DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 09:36 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
ok, I'm looking at your Caravan. According to our records, the average MPG before your last fuel-up was: 20.8138. And the average MPG after your last fuel-up was: 20.8614. (Some decimal places removed.) That's a total difference of around 0.0476. So it didn't quite meet the threshold required to show a change, which is 0.09.

The problem might be that it's too accurate. The rounding for display in that particular spot was leading you to believe there was more change than there actually was. We probably should adjust it so the difference is based on rounded figures instead of out so many decimal places.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Sounds good.
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 01:03 PM   #4
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
And that's what I did. Good eye on this one, that's a tough one to catch. I see why that's misleading.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:28 PM   #5
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Yay! It works! Its the little things.....
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:05 PM   #6
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Need to do the same fix on the homepage/dashboard... There they show the other way still..
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 04:03 AM   #7
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
ok, fixed this up on the dashboard too.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 03:18 PM   #8
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Sweet! Nice work, didn't even realized you posted till I reviewed my posts tonight/this morning. Thanks!
__________________

DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.