Just a convenience suggestion - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2010, 05:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Country: United States
Location: Silicon Valley CA
Just a convenience suggestion

Just a convenience suggestion (to keep me from fuelling the wrong car). It looks like the default active vehicle is always the one listed first in "Your Garage". So if I have clicked on my second listed car, then from that screen I click "Add a fuel-up", the active vehicle changes back to (or still is?) the first car.
Could it be set up so that the vehicle active in the Fuel-up screen is the same as the one the user had just been looking at?

Also, when I inadvertently added a fuel-up to the wrong car, I entered an odometer reading lower than that of the previous entry, yet there was no error issued (at least that I noticed). Should there have been one?
__________________

ggarnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:43 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Sure, seems reasonable. I'll see if we can get that added.

And no there shouldn't be a warning on entering a lower odometer reading. In some cases when people are entering a batch of fuel-ups they might get them out of sequence, and it'd be annoying to have to first put them in order. This is especially true when people first start using Fuelly and they might be copying a bunch of fuel-ups from a notebook in reverse-chronological order.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:55 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Country: United States
Location: Silicon Valley CA
I see your reasoning on no error message for out-of-order entries, so how about checking to see if odo readings and date of fuel-up track? That is, the mileage increment and the date increment relative to the previous entry should have the same sign.

Though this wouldn't catch all errors, I guess. And I can see where too much error trapping would make the site pretty unfriendly.
ggarnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:01 AM   #4
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
ahh yeah, that might be a way to do it. Our approach has been to have minimal intervention on data entry. We'd rather see people enter the data and clean up mistakes than stop entry altogether. We do have some hard limits in place, but I guess we haven't felt like this one was necessary.

I definitely agree that fueling up the wrong vehicle is a problem, it's too easy to do.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 260
Country: United States
Location: McMinnville, OR
I definitely agree that fueling up the wrong vehicle is a problem, it's too easy to do.

You know what would be a simple fix? We should show you a picture/title of the car above the forms.
mathowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:36 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Country: United States
Location: Silicon Valley CA
An idea (granted, with big site design impact): Instead of a global "Add a fuel-up" screen, move the link to the Fuel-up function within each vehicle's screen. Or (less impact) add a fuel-up button to each vehicle's screen, and set the active vehicle accordingly when this button is clicked.

More practical (?) - within the fuel-up screen, replace the drop-down menu for vehicle choice with a row of all of the user's vehicle icons. The active vehicle's icon would be highlighted (by a red border, maybe) - changing to another would be done by clicking on its icon.

Just defaulting to the vehicle most recently viewed (PB is looking at this, see my original post and his response) would be a big help.
ggarnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:17 AM   #7
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Yeah, I went ahead and added an Add a fuel-up button to vehicle profile pages if you're looking at your own vehicle, and I added a small picture and name to the fuel-up page. Hopefully that will help identify which vehicle you're filling up.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:33 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Country: United States
Location: Silicon Valley CA
Great - this really feels right to me, and it motivate me to put up pictures.

Thanks!
ggarnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:10 AM   #9
BDC
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 274
Country: United States
Very convenient addition! Thanks guys...
BDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 03:58 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Country: United States
Location: Orange County, California
Thank you PB, I logged on today with several fuel up's for my wife's car and found the new fuel up button on the car's profile. Thank you for saving me another step when inputting data here. You made a great site a little bit better once again.
__________________

bates is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.