More graph options - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2011, 08:50 AM   #11
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Checked with a different system. Windows 7 Ultimate 64, running the same version of FF and got the same result. IE on that system looks like yours. Looks to me like a bug in the FF browser or a bug in the site coding that the browser is ignoring or skipping or something. Oh well, hopefully you can figure it out. No worries, been like that a while, just occurred to me to say something today. lol
__________________

DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:11 AM   #12
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
That is odd. Everything looks fine for me in Firefox 5.0.1 on Windows 7 Ultimate 64. I see the missing data point in your screenshot, but I have no idea what could be causing it.

Flash and Java aren't factors here, so you don't need to worry about those. We're using a JavaScript (confusingly not related to Java in any way) charting system called Highcharts. This could be a bug in Highcharts in the Firefox beta. If that's the case there's not much we can do about it on this end. Sorry about this hassle. We're relying on a whole stack of software to make Fuelly happen and quite a bit of it is out of our control.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:17 AM   #13
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
You could try clearing out your Firefox cache. There's on off-chance you have an older version of Highcharts in your browser cache--and this bug has been fixed in the newest version. Here's the version we're currently using:

http://mefi.us/scripts/fuelly/v2/hig.../highcharts.js

If you click that link in Firefox it should bring up the code. The top of the code should say: "Highcharts JS v2.1.5 (2011-06-22)". If it doesn't, you're using an older version.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:50 AM   #14
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Weird. It was a cache issue, the version was 2.1.4, not 2.1.5. Funny that it would have been wrong on the other system, but whatever. After doing a hard refresh on that page it works fine now. Strange though.
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:59 AM   #15
BDC
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 274
Country: United States
Freaky. F5 fixed on my browser too (chrome).
BDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:16 PM   #16
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Sorry about that. Next time we do a Highcharts update I'll be sure to give the file a new name so we don't have this kind of issue crop up again.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:48 PM   #17
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
Simple solution. Use the version in the name. Or at least it sounds simple in my head. lol
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 05:01 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Country: United States
(new user reviving old thread)

I have a couple cases where one might want to graph their own fuel costs independently from the national average.

First, some of us run Biodiesel instead of petroleum based fuels. Our cost fluctuations are different from most gassers.

Second, some people make their own Biodiesel, and would probably end up tracking their costs differently. If they've gone through the work of assigning a $/gal figure to their homemade fuel I could see them wanting to see a graph of their costs.

Third, users who are optimizing for fuel cost may want to compare their own average against the national average.

However, independent of any particular use case, having generic support for graphing any metric you're already exposing in the mini-stats means that users will be able to create combinations of charts that we can't yet imagine. In my mind that alone is the biggest argument in support of implementing touvang's request.

All that said, you can consider this a vote for a feature I think would make fuelly even more awesome. I hope you can find room on the roadmap for it.
__________________

skully is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.