Need help - my trip odometer was reset - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2010, 05:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Country: United States
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Need help - my trip odometer was reset

My car was in an accident and in the repair shop for about a week. During that time they had to take out the battery, reset the navi codes, etc, etc. I didn't think to look at where my odometer was, and this is what I use to input on Fuelly for fill ups. When I got my car back, I noticed my trip odometer was only 2.4 miles (probably representing a test drive).

So now I have about 1/4 tank remaining on my car and have no idea what my actual tank mileage will be when it's time fill up again and post here on Fuelly.

What should I do? Don't include this particularly tank and just post up the next one? Or try to estimate based on my commute, recent trips, etc?
__________________

Keen4Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Yeah, just skip the next fuel-up and check the "I missed a fuel-up" box on your next one. I think that's your best bet. Hope everyone is ok!
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Country: United States
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Thanks. I don't know why but only the trip A odometer got zeroed out, and not the rest of my MID data. Strange. Funny thing: since the odometer "thinks" I just filled up, the mpg on the MID is a bit laggard. I only got 45 mpg on a round trip yesterday that regularly gives me 52-55 mpg.
Keen4Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 11:43 PM   #4
Out of Fuel
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 216
Country: United States
Location: EUP Michigan
This is why I use the actual odometer to track mileage, rather than the trip.

Trip I use to get a general feel of were I am each tank, but if I actually take a trip, I let it track that.
DTMAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 01:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,486
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
A similar thing happened to me, i had my car tuned up, they removed the battery so i lost the data. Didn't realise there was "missed a fuel up" box though? What difference does that make?
__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 02:49 PM   #6
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
You might need "missed a fuel-up" if you're using odometer tracking. And it's only available when you fuel-up if you're using odometer tracking. That tells Feully that you didn't really travel 1,800 miles since the last fuel-up, you just missed at least one fuel-up. With tripometer tracking you always know exactly how far you went. But with odometer tracking, Fuelly figures that out for you, and we need to know when there's more mileage than there should be for calculating fuel-ups.

So I misspoke when I said Keen4Green should check the missed fuel-up option. That's not even an option because he's using tripometer tracking.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Country: United States
I use the tripometer method myself and the guys at the carwash reset my tripometer.. from now on I'm switching it over to TripB when I drop off my car with anyone..

One of the advantages of having a digital readout... You normally have two tripometers..
mtux96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 07:27 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: Minneapolis, MN
It depends.

If you're really serious about it, you could track your odometer reading if you've been filling the car up from the very beginning of ownership from it. Subtract the difference from what your odometer is at right now versus what it was at the sum of all your fuelly postings.

But that'll only work if you've logged every mile the car has ever had as I have. It's unlikely.

Otherwise, you can just skip it, as much as it pains me to say. It would drive me nuts to have to skip one, as I'm a bit OCD about it.

I had that happen to me on my last car though, so I feel your pain.
__________________

obradovichm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.