new user, how add base miles? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2012, 08:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Country: United States
new user, how add base miles?

I want to add a car with existing miles, what is the best way to get the base miles into the system?
__________________

bafxf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 08:57 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
We don't have anything about base miles in the system. So the best way to start is the next time you fill up your tank. If you're using odometer tracking jot down the odometer reading, enter that and your fuel-up details here.

If you want to use tripometer tracking instead, reset your tripometer at your next fuel-up, and then get the details on the following fuel-up.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Country: United States
I have a total of three vehicles logged and the two oldest ones calculate my odometer reading. My newest vehicle only asks for my "miles since last fill up".

Why was there a change?
Creamycaesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 329
Country: United Kingdom
As Paul said above, you can either use tripmeter (tank mileage) or odometer tracking. It is an option you select when you first set up the vehicle in fuelly.

http://www.fuelly.com/faq/4/Tripometer-vs-Odometer
MMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:44 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Hi.First post, new user!Quick question...as this will be the first data i will be entering, can i just enter the odometer reading after a complete fill and just enter that without the fuel amount?Soz if im thick

j
nipples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 329
Country: United Kingdom
As far as I understand it, the first time you enter an odometer reading it is just setting a base line. The second time, fuelly uses the difference between the two readings as the miles, and the fuel amount you enter at the same time, to calculate the mpg.

Personally I've only used the trip meter (tank miles) method.
MMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:57 AM   #7
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
We do require a fuel amount with every fuel-up for consistency. So go ahead and jot that down too for your first fuel-up.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:50 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Do all entries have to be in order by date or odometer? If I have missed a fuel receipt, will fuelly be able to add in a fill up from a couple of tanks ago when I find receipt?
BiggRedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:42 AM   #9
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
No, they don't have to be in order. If you missed a couple fuel-ups, just make sure you mark the new one you add as missed. Then when you find your receipt (hopefully with your odometer reading written on it) enter it and edit the fuel-up you marked as missed to remove that missed a fuel-up setting.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.