Option of Total or Unit Price - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2012, 08:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 302
Country: United States
Location: Nebraska
Option of Total or Unit Price

I would like to have the option to add fuel price as a total instead of a unit price ($/gallon). Fuelly calculates the total from the unit price and quantity, but it should be just about as simple to calculate unit price from the total and quantity.
__________________

Charon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:14 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Thanks for the suggestion—this is something we're thinking about.

One reason we haven't gone with it is that we'd like to keep the fuel-up form as simple as possible. So for as long as the site has existed, we've asked people to enter the cost per unit.

Once we add another option it complicates that message. Folks will either need to select their preference in their profile, or we'll need to complicate the fuel-up form with another option. That will lead to misunderstandings and confusion. People will either forget which one they have selected, put the wrong numbers in the wrong box, or the right numbers in the wrong box. We have other input methods like Fuelly Mobile and SMS where simplicity is even more key. So instead of having people worry about/remember which option they're using we made the choice to select one and stick with it.

We're not against living with this complication eventually. I think it might be a nice feature and worth this pain of implementing and instructing people. I just wanted to let you know our thinking behind selecting a single option.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 46
Country: United States
Location: Parkersburg, WV
+1, I understand the possible confusion, but I think adding it as an option in the profile might be the easiest. Then one would have to consciously change it to work.

Also it seems you have pretty good filters in place to catch if someone accidentally keyed $56.93 for unit price (/gal) and vice versa. Maybe save the data and send an e-mail saying the numbers look off?
vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:22 AM   #4
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
It gets tricky with international currency. Prices are all over the place. It's not an impossible problem, just trickier than if we were dealing with US dollars only.

We're probably not likely to start an asynchronous error system like that.

I hear what you're saying. For a certain number of people this would be a killer feature. I'm not completely against it. We just have to decide if it's worth the confusion and headaches that would be involved. We're not ready to make that call right now.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:36 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 302
Country: United States
Location: Nebraska
I have been recording the total price for years, but never bothered with unit price. When I use Fuelly, I have to remember to either record another number, or back-calculate. I am tired of bothering with that, and if I cannot enter price as a total I won't enter it at all.
Charon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:10 AM   #6
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Sorry about the hassle, Charon. We appreciate the feedback.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.