Reconciling the first fuel-up in a new vehicle - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2011, 04:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Country: United States
Location: Acworth, GA
Reconciling the first fuel-up in a new vehicle

How do I reconcile the first fuel up in a new vehicle driven off the lot? I need to start tracking the vehicle at 0 miles, otherwise my 'Total Miles Tracked' will never match my odometer. If I add a first fuel up with .1 miles and .01 gallons, my 'Total Miles Tracked' will be correct, but my 'Total Fuel-ups' will report one more than it should.
__________________

AzRobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:12 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Did the dealer fill it to full? You could estimate the size of the first fuel-up by using the capacity of your fuel tank.

In most cases Total Miles Tracked will never match the odometer of the car here at Fuelly. I can see how that'd be kind of neat, but the system isn't designed to have that match.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 260
Country: United States
Location: McMinnville, OR
The total fuel-ups won't be wrong, the dealer should fill the tank before handing you the keys to the vehicle.

When I bought a new car, I put down the mileage at signing (it was more than zero, due to test drives), and said it was a ten gallon partial fuel up. Measuring by odometer, this covered every fuel up and distance I've driven while owning it.

We may in the future provide a "new car?" first fuel option so you don't have to enter slightly bogus data to get started.
mathowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:33 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Country: United States
Location: Acworth, GA
Thanks for your response, Paul. I can only assume that it came with a full tank, but I don't know for sure. I have been using a spreadsheet to keep track of my fuel usage which will report many other statistics and averages. I had always used my data to tell me how much fuel I have 'Purchased' and how much it has 'Cost' me, not how much fuel has run through the engine. The first tank that came with the car isn't important to me. I don't want it to be calculated because I don't know how much fuel it was, I didn't have to pay for it, and it will throw off all my averages to have a zero cost tank. Instead of a first fuel up, it would be nice to be able to enter a 'Start Tracking From' point. For those of us that track all our fuel, this will make our data more accurate.
AzRobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:37 AM   #5
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
The problem with "start tracking from" is that we don't know if the tank was full at that point, and Fuelly calculates individual MPG based on the difference from full. Without knowing the starting full point, having the starting odometer reading isn't very helpful. It's better to start with the first known fuel-up where you fill it to full and have all of the data.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:26 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Country: United States
Location: Acworth, GA
You're right; a 'Start Tracking From' point would only be useful if the user started tracking when the vehicle were empty. Perhaps a feature to allow the first fuel up data to not be calculated in the averages and totals. My problem is, if I want my 'Miles Tracked' to match my odometer, and I only want to calculate how much fuel I have purchased and how much I have spent, the first fuel up must be zero miles, no gallons, and must not cost anything. This would be fine, except that when this 'first fuel-up' is calculated with the rest of the fuel-ups, it will throw off all the averaging stats.
AzRobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:29 AM   #7
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Yeah, I think the problem lies with trying to get your current odometer reading to match the "Miles Tracked" stat. It's a bit misleading because we present that stat as if it's an odometer, but in reality it's not going to match your current real world odometer reading in just about any scenario.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.