Electronics parts source? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2008, 11:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,111
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
Electronics parts source?

Anybody know where I can go to get integrated circuits one at a time?

Specifically, I'm upgrading the power amp in my car and need a TDA7389(preferred), TDA7388, or TDA7387 chip and can't find anything online but data sheets.

http://www.alldatasheet.com/datashee...S/TDA7382.html

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
- Kyle
dkjones96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 07:22 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
I checked with digikey and mouser and digikey has it but it looks like you have to buy quantity.

I would call them and see what they could do for you.

I have used both for parts and they have sold to me in singles before but I usually buy large orders of many random parts when I order and it has been a while since I have ordered from them. the worst they could say is no. I think they have a minimum order though. if you had some other stuff you needed or could get on someone elses order. there are ways

look at this from digikey: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...?KeywordSearch

your data sheet is for 7382 not 7389 I would check pin outs to make sure they will match up and go for it.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 07:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,111
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
I will call them and see what they can do.

I posted the 7382 because that is what is currently in the car. The 7389 is double the output power but the same pin out. I'm sure there are some other things in there that will need replaced but the virtual ground circuit shouldn't be too hard to bypass with a custom one.
__________________
- Kyle
dkjones96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 02:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,111
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
They have the 7386 there and that will work. They don't require bulk buys on everything they have so I'm able to order the chip I need for $30 with shipping.

The only issue is how to get it cool now. Maximum heat dissipation is 80w while stock was closer to 35-40w so I'm guessing normal of 40-60 with the way I listen to the radio.
__________________
- Kyle
dkjones96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 04:09 PM   #5
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Have you tried your local Rat Shack? (Radio Shack). It used to be you could special order just about anything from them. Just ask the one in the store that looks like they know what they're doing. If you ask the zit faced teenager he'll probably tell you if its not on the shelf, they don't have it.

-Jay

EDIT: Also another favorite of mine is allelectronics.com
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 06:22 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
thornburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 162
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkjones96 View Post
The only issue is how to get it cool now. Maximum heat dissipation is 80w while stock was closer to 35-40w so I'm guessing normal of 40-60 with the way I listen to the radio.
There are only so many choices here... If you've got a lot of room, a heatsink or heatsink + fan is the simple choice.

If space is tight, a heat pipe assembly (preferably salvaged from some dead PC components, as I believe they can be rather pricey) might do the trick.

If you need serious cooling (80W doesn't sound extreme to me, though), there are bizarre methods like Peltier coolers.
__________________
thornburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 05:23 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
depending on your setup, I would say that you could use two cooling fans (they don't have to be big) with one blowing air in the compartment and one sucking air out of the compartment. that way the fans help each other so you can get away with a smaller fan with less power draw overall.

this is assuming that you can make two openings where you have this setup. also for best cooling, you would want a delay circuit that cuts the fans off about 20 or 30 seconds after you turn your car off. that way heat doesn't build up.

on a side note: make sure your speakers can handle the increased power. factory speakers usually can't handle much more than the factory head unit can supply. though you probably have already upgraded to aftermarket speakers.

just my two cents. good luck
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 07:33 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,111
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
Yeah, the speakers are already upgraded. That's actually the reason I'm needing to upgrade the amp.

The stock amp was perfect for paper cone speakers but when I went to the plastic cone 3-way speakers the amp couldn't push enough power to keep the drivers in check and ended up damaging voice coils on a couple of the speakers. I dissected them and they were physically damaged.

RadioShack has MOST of the stuff I need for my electronics projects but not everything. This amp is a case where RadioShack can't really do anything. The chip I was looking for was pretty specific and they had no idea what I was talking about. 'Flexiwatt 25'... You'd think I was talking german to them.

As for the cooling, I think I can take care of it with a heatsink/fan combination and fresh air. There is room in the back for a small setup and I don't need the system to push much more than it already does so I don't see it ever needing to dissipate the full 80W of heat.
__________________
- Kyle
dkjones96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 08:49 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 189
Country: United States
I also use these parts vendors for my own parts needs:
http://www.alliedelec.com My sales rep is Sonya Haney, 18004335700. She has gone above and beyond helping me find some rare high voltage ceramic capacitors for my EV battery charger.
rgathright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 05:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
VetteOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,546
Country: United States
you can order one IC from mouser ive done it before, just make sure you specify one lol and make sure u try to order one that you can buy individually.
__________________

VetteOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gearbox dropdown greyed out; missing engines? synergist Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-05-2013 08:48 AM
Mandatory EOC red91sit General Fuel Topics 4 06-07-2008 07:55 PM
Winter tire/steel wheel users - How bad is the MPG hit? jshelton441 General Fuel Topics 11 06-05-2008 06:09 AM
New Guy! Recommendations for a Pre-1996 fuel efficient car? kozaz General Discussion (Off-Topic) 31 05-03-2006 10:36 PM
what will the scangauge fit? GasSavers_Ryland Hypermiling 11 03-29-2006 08:15 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.