External Hard Drive Woes - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 06:12 PM   #1
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
External Hard Drive Woes

Got a 160GB Samsung HDD for use as an external drive. Bought an enclosure for it. Slapped it all together just now. Seems to be recognized and installs itself, shows up on the removeable things list, but the drive won't show up to become accessible. Any tips?

It's SATA by the way, and the case is IDE/SATA.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:38 PM   #2
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
are the jumpers set correctly? Have you gone to device manager to see if there are any conflicts?
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:43 PM   #3
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
In device manager it says everything is good. I'll check the jumpers now.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:49 PM   #4
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Just told matt this in AIM:

Me: The only thing it says is that if my controller/motherboard won't support 3.0 gig mode to set the jumpers a different way.
Me: Cleverly enough there are no jumpers on it at all...
Me: Pulled a jumper off my cd drive and no dice.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 98
Country: United States
So what's the external case connect to the computer with? USB?
GasSavers_Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 06:53 PM   #6
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Yessir.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 98
Country: United States
OK, so you installed the drivers, rebooted, and it's not showing the disk when you plug in the USB. Wherever it shows up, it doesn't actually show anything about the hard disk, right? Just the enclosure.

I'm thinking it has something to do with how the disk is hooked into the enclosure. It's spinning up OK, right? You got a spare IDE drive you can try in that thing instead?
GasSavers_Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:05 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
It spins and the status light or whatev comes on. It doesn't show anything in my computer, I'll pop an ide drive out of something and try it here in a second.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 12:59 AM   #9
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
heh... you got further than I did. I bought the same enclosure. I plugged it in, turned it on, and nada. Hard drive doesn't spin, zero power.

I need to attack it with a multi-meter tomorrow.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 03:57 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 36
Country: United States
If Device Manager shows it as being installed with no problems then the next logical step would be to try and initialize the HD. What OS are you using? In XP if you right click on my computer and select manage you can then select Disk Management to initialize and partition hard drives. Be careful. If you see your new disk after selecting disk management you should be able to initialize and then partition it. Let me know if you want more details.

Sean
__________________

__________________
Sean88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miscategorized cars. catching45 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 10-25-2011 04:44 AM
Gas cards to help track mileage? Pele2048 General Fuel Topics 3 08-12-2011 04:37 AM
Add an option to specify fuel grade and octane rating cyanics Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 09-04-2008 07:40 AM
allow sign-in with user name funkd00bi3st Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-11-2008 02:23 PM
An idea on hiding google ads Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 29 05-19-2006 03:49 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.