Inefficient Windows - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 11-08-2007, 06:17 AM   #1
Registered Member

Inefficient Windows

Someone at work asked me about inefficient windows and energy comsumption.

Since I spend most of time "under the hood" to save energy, I need some help from the experts...

Bascially they have older windows that could use replacing (which are expensive). In the interim what are the solutions to block Old Man Winter?

In the past, I've seen weatherstripping and plastic "bag" covers. Have there been any advances in technology?

RH77

Old 11-08-2007, 06:40 AM   #2
Registered Member

Tight-fitting storm windows are still an amazing energy saver.

Old 11-08-2007, 06:43 AM   #3
Driving on E

I've been using that plastic stuff from Home Depot for 3 years now. I received a quote recently to replace my basement windows with double-paned windows. It will cost about $1200. According to the window guy, they pay for themselves in 3 years.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 06:45 AM   #4
Supporting Member

There are sereval things that will help. The degree in which they help is usually on par with the cost.

Start with making sure there are no gaps/leaks that will let wind through. Once that is done you are left with surface of single pane glass that are very inefficient, but at least there is no draft.

Now you could put shutters on the outside of solid wood, which will help some. Better are stormwindows. Make sure you have some kind of weatherstrips between the storm windows and the old windows so no wind will come in. Now you have two layers of glass which will not be as efficient as real insulated glass but it's not bad as the air between the windows will still act as an inulating buffer zone.