Minimize Computer Power Consumption - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 09:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Mighty Mira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 315
Country: United States
Minimize Computer Power Consumption

This is from Silent PC Review, and excellent site that goes in great depth for reducing noise in your computer. It is no stranger to lowering wattage requirements.

This article gives a broad overview of how to achieve a lower power draw for electronic devices. It's amazing how much low hanging fruit there is for efficiency. I like the idea of minimizing expenses... that means that you only need to work a short amount of time and then "coast".
__________________

Mighty Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 04:14 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 228
Country: United States
Quote:
I like the idea of minimizing expenses... that means that you only need to work a short amount of time and then "coast".
YES...Brilliant!
__________________

GasSavers_James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:30 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
ZugyNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 587
Country: United States
If you are in to energy savings...makes the leave it on or turn it off question easy to answer.

My graphics card only uses 23 watts...full blast....good to know.

If I'm done using it...I turn it off.
__________________
Leading the perpetually ignorant and uninformed into the light of scientific knowledge. Did I really say that?

a new policy....I intend to ignore the nescient...a waste of time and energy.
ZugyNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
I run on a laptop Avertec 3200 - power in use 30-32 watts - monthly electric bill 80-85kwh most of the power going to the fridge to keep juice cool although double insulated it is still the big consumer in my place. HDTV 26" highest energy saving mode . . . 50-60 watts!!! max power mode 192 watts!
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 04:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Mighty Mira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 315
Country: United States
Actually now they have a new article...

Net result is go laptop with Pentium M, Celeron M, Core Solo,
and Core Duo among Intel processors; AMD Turion 64 and
Turion 64 X2 (dual core) are also very efficient.

And choose an LCD screen.
Mighty Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 04:59 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_brick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 162
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mighty Mira
Actually now they have a new article...

Net result is go laptop with Pentium M, Celeron M, Core Solo,
and Core Duo among Intel processors; AMD Turion 64 and
Turion 64 X2 (dual core) are also very efficient.

And choose an LCD screen.
I'm running a little laptop with a Pentium M and it does the job just fine. The only thing I could ask for is a larger flat panel display since this is one of those "ultra portable" things with a tiny form factor. Doesn't shed much heat, though.
__________________
'07 Toyota Prius
GasSavers_brick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 05:01 PM   #7
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
My new computer has an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ processor with 2G of ram. From what I have learned by reading the manual/instructions, it only runs as fast as it has to. The literature mentioned that if I were to check on the system performance that I may see a slower than advertised processor speed. Almost sounds like Dodge's MDS for desktops.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 05:29 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
That thing got a hemi (with fuel saving M-D-S)?

It'll always have the power of a v8, never get the FE of a 4 cylinder, but no one will check their mileage to know the difference!
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 06:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to molecule
my car computer is a p3 600mhz my original gateway purchased in 2000
has a 90w ps w/ onboard graphics
i can listen to tunes and gps streets & trips
or run wmp visualization no problem
seems to do the job
15" industrial lcd custom mounted to the dash
i think its 35w
plus a stock honda stereo probably no more than 100w
eh...it gets me by



back when i owned the vx i couldn't manage to make a difference mpg wise either using the computer or not
__________________
BE ZEITGEISTED
molecule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 09:21 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
psyshack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 443
Country: United States
I overclock and crank the voltages up on all my rigs. A avid folder to boot. I use extreme air and water cooling. all 5 of my machines run 24/7 @ 100%

If it wont OC to the trash with it....
__________________

__________________
09 HCHII, w/Navi
07 Mazda3 S Touring, 5MT
Mild Hypermiler or Mad Man?
psyshack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looks like the price you entered for a litre of gas is unrealistic. winstona Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 05-12-2013 11:26 AM
Reconciling the first fuel-up in a new vehicle AzRobbins Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 06-21-2011 05:29 AM
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Recommendations for a tire gauge Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 10 04-21-2006 03:18 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.