Power Draw from alarm clocks/Microwaves - Fuelly Forums
Go Back   Fuelly Forums > The Pub > General Discussion (Off-Topic)
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 11:05 PM   #1
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Power Draw from alarm clocks/Microwaves

How much does a new type alarm clock use?

Also, how about a microwave from the 70s v. a new one?

__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 01:24 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
omgwtfbyobbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,516
Country: United States
I've read alarm clocks take ~10W. I have a microwave from the early 80s w/ the digital readout/stuff that uses ~2W, while my grandfather's version, w/ more features, but basically the same thing, uses ~4W. I'm guessing it's just due to difference in chip design/availability.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaTwo
I think if i could get that type of FE i would have no problem driving a dildo shaped car.
omgwtfbyobbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 102
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy View Post
How much does a new type alarm clock use?

Also, how about a microwave from the 70s v. a new one?

I suggest that you buy a Kill-A-Watt. It will really change the way you use electric in your house. I think Kill-A-Watt can be had for anywhere from $20-30 depending on the deal at the time. Try supermediastore.com. With that said, I have a Sharp carousel that I will test this evening with my Kill-A-Watt. Assuming I remember to run the test, I'll let you know how much it uses while running and what is the draw from it while simply plugged in.
Remember that suff plugged in pulls a draw. My stereo, TV, DVD setup connected to the power strip all draw about 15W just from being plugged in the wall outlet. This is when they are all not running and turned OFF, not just in standby mode. So now I power the strip off and run 0W from my entertainment system when Im not home. It may not seem like a lot but Im sure it will add up. Looking forward to see what next bill will be like.
Anyway, hopefully I remember to check my wattage tonight.
GasSavers_StanleyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 08:59 PM   #4
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I own one, but being in japan at the moment, I don't have access to it.

I'm actually more concerned with in use power draw of the microwave...
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 06:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Snax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 758
Country: United States
I look at microwaves and clocks from a 'they are what they are' perspective. It's really not practical to unplug them, so ignorance is bliss!

We've figured out however that we can now combine our two independent satellite receivers into one combined unit for two TVs by upgrading to HD format. Assuming it doesn't draw much if any more power than our current receivers, we'll be cutting that parasitic load of 40W, 24/7, in half.

Anybody with the HDTV DVR from Dish want to confirm or debunk that assumption?
__________________
LiberalImage.com

I think, therefore I doubt.
Snax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 08:23 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 102
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snax View Post
.... It's really not practical to unplug them, so ignorance is bliss!
...
I see your point. But if it draws too much power then Id unplug unless the plug was in a hard to reach position like most refrigerators that are squished against the wall. However, this is where a strip comes in handy. My entertainment system when hooked to a power strip hogs about 15W (not that much compared to other single devices) when all devices are turned off. Its real easy to just shut the strip as oppossed to unplugging. Im not a great fan of unplugging as its a hassle and Im afraid may eventually wear down the stiffness of the connection. Things werent made to be constantly unplugged. Strip is good idea, although not always a practical solution. Maybe you can get toaster, microwave, kitchen radio, ect all one one strip and shutoff at night??????
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snax View Post
.......we can now combine our two independent satellite receivers into one combined unit for two TVs by upgrading to HD format. Assuming it doesn't draw much if any more power than our current receivers, we'll be cutting that parasitic load of 40W, 24/7, in half....
VERY good idea. Something to think about if you are already in the market for such equipment, althopugh Im a great fan of INDIVIDUAL components in case anything should ever fail. Im also curious to see results
GasSavers_StanleyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 03:04 PM   #7
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I don:t mind the microwave clock, but Im thinking of getting a new one for my mom for her birthday thatll use less power in run mode and such things.

Also, I have been using a windup clock here in japan and wonder if the power draw is worth using it in the us too.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 08:13 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Snax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 758
Country: United States
Another solution to the power strip switch is a GFI outlet. Assuming the first one in your string of outlets is more convenient to reach, you could shut the whole string down with just a tap of the button. That's how we shut off our entertainment center at night, as it's wired on the same circuit as the kitchen GFI.
__________________
LiberalImage.com

I think, therefore I doubt.
Snax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 08:27 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Rick Rae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 240
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy View Post
I don:t mind the microwave clock...
You guys talking about this made me curious about ours, so I pulled out the Kill-A-Watt. If we left the microwave plugged in for an entire year and never used it, the clock would cost us a whopping $1.57. Not exactlly low-hanging fruit.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick Rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looks like the price you entered for a litre of gas is unrealistic. winstona Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 05-12-2013 11:26 AM
A side project I am working on... DTMAce General Fuel Topics 3 04-29-2010 03:21 PM
Diesels are very efficent at idle? philmcneal Diesels 36 04-05-2007 07:25 PM
Electric bikes banned in Chinese city to make room for cars MetroMPG Electric and Solar powered 4 11-24-2006 08:29 AM
Recommendations for a tire gauge Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 10 04-21-2006 03:18 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.