Power Increase: 9/22, 9/23 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2006, 09:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
Power Increase: 9/22, 9/23

Just a remark...

I noticed driving yesterday that the Integra is pulling hills with relative ease lately. The data confirms it -- on hills before where I would scrub 10 mph at constant throttle, at the same input, the car only loses around 2 mph.

The intake air is the same (120F) and the FE has increased

The outside temps are much cooler, but I haven't been using the A/C for a while. The only thing I can think of is a recent oil change, but I've had a few trips since then without this kind of power. The humidity is up which could aid in the combustion dynamics, but otherwise, I'm stumped.

RH77
__________________

__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 11:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
My car had a loss of power. I need to do a lot of maintenance on mine.

It's most likely your transmission. Automatics are weird. One day it will lag, other days it hauls ***.
__________________

__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:19 AM   #3
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
My auto never did that, and I don't really see any basis to say that a set of gears and such physical components would operate differently at different times.

Perhaps it's just one of those things. I had something like this happen after my wire tuck, Iono why though,
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 01:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
zpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,225
Country: United States
Probably the E10.
zpiloto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
tomauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 292
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to tomauto Send a message via MSN to tomauto Send a message via Yahoo to tomauto
GT4 experience

On Gran Turismo 4, when you bought a used car, it had a nice old oil in it, and if you would check the horsepower before and after...you would notice a 3-8 hp increase when you changed the oil. It very well could be that depending on how old the oil was.
__________________
Current Stable
GasSaver: 2000 Honda Insight Silverstone w/AC 65+mpg
Track Terror: 2002 Honda S2000 Gran Prix White- lots of mods - 28mpg
Beater: 1988 Honda Civic DX Hatback - Stripped - 30mpg

RIP: 1996 Honda Civic LX 42mpg - you will be missed

http://tomauto.smugmug.com/Cars
tomauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
The Toecutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 612
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to The Toecutter
If you're running synthetic oil this time, more power is probably reaching your wheels than running regular oil.
The Toecutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:14 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
No Exxon/Mobil

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Toecutter
If you're running synthetic oil this time, more power is probably reaching your wheels than running regular oil.
I've been boycotting Exxon/Mobil for a year or more due to their unethical business practices (as well as Wal-Mart).

This leaves Mobil 1 out of the question, which was the exclusive oil in all of my cars. I just changed to Castrol GTX dino oil and left it at that.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 07:38 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Castrol has been my oil of choice for many many years and is what the manufacturer of my Moto Morini motorcycles recommends because of its misting properties for lubricating the valves. The Syntec Blend is very good as is the full Synthetic . . . of course now I use Synlube . . . told a guy with a big old porche today and he will put it in the tranny first and maybe the engine once he finds the oil leaks . . . engine takes about 9 quarts and has been using Mobile1
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 07:57 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
Dino - Synth - Dino/Synth - Dino - Synth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanGeo
Castrol has been my oil of choice for many many years and is what the manufacturer of my Moto Morini motorcycles recommends because of its misting properties for lubricating the valves. The Syntec Blend is very good as is the full Synthetic . . . of course now I use Synlube . . . told a guy with a big old porche today and he will put it in the tranny first and maybe the engine once he finds the oil leaks . . . engine takes about 9 quarts and has been using Mobile1
Since I change the oil myself, it could be feasible to run the Syntec or full Synth -- but I've gone around and around between Dino and Synth, so I just go with what's cheap and recommended. I chose Castrol because of the same reason -- a good friend raced motorcycles and it was almost required. I may try Syntec next time depending on the price. I used the Mobil 1 back in the autocross days for added protection -- unfortunately, the molecules are smaller, and tend to go bye-bye. Synlube is too expensive for my applications, sorry.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:16 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
you're only hurting yourself.

I plan to switch to Mobil 1 synthetic for my next oil change. I never get Mobil/Exxon gas anyway.

Shell or Chevron for me.
__________________

__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looks like the price you entered for a litre of gas is unrealistic. winstona Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 05-12-2013 11:26 AM
A side project I am working on... DTMAce General Fuel Topics 3 04-29-2010 03:21 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Diesels are very efficent at idle? philmcneal Diesels 36 04-05-2007 07:25 PM
Recommendations for a tire gauge Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 10 04-21-2006 03:18 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.