2015 Audi Q5 3.0 TDI - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > News and Articles > Car Reviews
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 01-20-2016, 12:38 PM   #1
Registered Member

2015 Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

Preamble

When I was shopping for a new vehicle, one of the things I did was check Fuelly.com for real world fuel economy, and I based my decision in part on those number. I was wasn't disappointed. I've been driving my 2015 Audi Q5 since May, for about 8 months and 9,400 miles, and I've attained impressive fuel economy, both in my best tank ever, as well as a 10-tank average that puts me in Fuelly's #1 spot for my vehicle.

The Averages

My actual average (not the one calculated by Fuelly) for my last 10 tanks is 6.64 L/100 km / 35.44 US MPG / 42.57 imperial MPG. My calculations take the actual fuel consumed and the actual distance traveled over 10 tanks, and does the math using those numbers. As this time, Fuelly looks at each tank's MPG value and then averages those numbers, which can give you a less accurate value.

My best tank ever delivered a true 5.77 L/100 km / 40.74 US MPG / 48.93 imperial MPG over a distance of 1,030 km (637 miles). Important facts that let me attain this atypically high value include:
  • All highway
  • Mostly 60 mph with some 50-55 mph (nothing over 60 mph)
  • Few speed variances
  • Few rest stops
  • Level terrain from northern Florida to the Carolinas
  • Mild weather in October, required no heating or A/C
  • Daytime driving required no headlights
  • 1 occupant
  • <20 lbs luggage
  • properly inflated tires

Driving Style Makes a Big Difference

I do the following things to minimize fuel consumption:
  • Gentle starts
  • Look ahead, and let off the gas rather than use brakes, if possible
  • Use cruise control where possible. It's more precise than my foot at keeping a fixed speed