Getting the most from a scooter - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 08-07-2007, 07:53 AM   #1
Registered Member

Getting the most from a scooter

Hey, guys. I've been riding my Vespa for about 6 months now, and I've been getting a consistent 70 - 75MPG since the first 1000 miles passed. The manual advertises 60 - 70, so this seems pretty good, but I think I might be able to do better.

I drive intelligently, but I definitely don't hypermile. I coast to stops and take it easy on acceleration, but if traffic is going 70, I prefer to be keeping up instead of having people riding my tail and shooting to get around me. That already happens enough when I am keeping up. I've been looking for a route where people actually drive slower, but we'll see what comes out of that this coming semester.

I guess my first question has to do with the (lack of) aerodynamics compared to a motorcycle. I expect that a Vespa, with the stylish, brick-like front has worse aerodynamics than a motorcycle, which I understand is already pretty bad. I'm not sure what I could really do about this, so I guess this one is mostly for my own information. I guess that slowing down would have an effect on this, though.

Second, I've heard various remarks about CVT transmissions. They seem to be good for keeping the engine in peak power range, but this appears to be where my tachometer flattens out at around 7k after 40MPH. This seems a little high, but being that it's an automatic, there's not much to be done short of replacing or reprogramming it. Would modifications be worth the cost, or would I have to drive 10,000 miles before I would start reaping the benefits?

I guess that covers the general three "Drive slower", "Be more aerodynamic", and "Use a manual transmission". Does anyone have any tips or comments?