Kawisaki Ninja 250R discussion - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Motorcycles
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 04-13-2008, 06:28 AM   #41
Registered Member

I have been riding my 2002 Ninja 250 for about 9 months now. My other motorcycle is a 1973 R75/5 BMW (750 cc). I have owned the BMW for almost 30 years. Since I started riding the Ninja, the BMW has been sitting.
To dispel a few common comments that seem unfounded to me, I have set forth my experience on my 250 Ninja:
1. I am 6 foot and 200 + pounds; and the Ninja is plenty comfortable to ride.
2. I don't believe I am any safer on my BMW than on the Ninja on the interstate. In fact, the agility of the Ninja makes me feel like I would be more likely able to avoid an unanticipated hazard with the Ninja than with the BMW. Feeling safer on a bigger bike I think is more of a perception than reality. I hit a deer a few months ago broadside at about 45-50 mph on the Ninja and the cowling took a beating, but I was able to keep the bike up and sustained no personal injury.
3. If you think you want a 250 Ninja, take one for a ride. I think it is a hoot to ride!!!!! I've driven at about 28 degrees and at over 90 degrees. No problem.

Rick0000069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 07:53 PM   #42
Registered Member

I know this is the Ninja 250 thread, but anyone have any experience with Royal Enfield or the Buell Blast for FE? Both state they get in the 70's for mpg. I imagine thats a positive outlook. Not probably as fast as the Ninja 250, but we are talking FE anyway. They are twice the displacement, but in a single cyl, lower rev'ing engine. I think the Royal Enfield also offer a lean burn engine as an option now? Thought I'd throw that out there....

Minicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 07:54 PM   #43
Registered Member