Kawisaki Ninja 250R discussion - Page 6 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Motorcycles
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 06-18-2008, 03:35 PM   #51
Registered Member

This is an old thread but I thought I'd add my two cents. I've been riding for 25 years on various bikes. Never really been into the cruiser or race-bike style. Anyway, my 1978 BMW R80/7 gets pretty lousy gas mileage no matter how cool the horizontal opposed twin looks. So I decided to add a scooter or small motorcycle to my stable. I tried out some scooters first -- I wanted to be able to go 55-60 mph sometimes but the price for a Kymco People 200 was the same as for a brand new Ninja 250 or Honda Nighthawk 250. I'm not seeing many used scooters yet in my area and I couldn't really justify the cost of the larger scooter (approaching $4000) even with gas at $4.50/gal for reg in my area.

Anyway, long story short, I found a Ninja locally ($2200, 2005, 4810 miles), test rode it, and bought it. I'm really happy with the purchase -- I love this bike for all my near distance commuting. It purs at 60, and does 70-80 without a hiccup. I had worries at first -- when I was in highschool, I had a 70s Yamaha 360 that vibrated like a jackhammer at any speed in excess of 50 mph -- the Ninja is smooth as glass.

Of course, it won't be the fastest bike in the world, but it is a kick to ride it -- probably way more fun to run the speed limit on it, than on a Ducati.

I wouldn't exactly suggest the Ninja 250 to be one's ONLY bike, but it sure makes a great local commuter.

Anyway, on my first fillup -- after a week of seeing how fast I could accelerate and how fast it would go, mixed with some sedate city driving, I averaged 69.5 mpg. ;-)

anagama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 02:52 PM   #52
Registered Member

ninja 250 is a great bike for commuting.