Controlling Amperage - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2008, 01:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Controlling Amperage

How do you control the amperage going to the HHO generator/what's a good power source?
__________________

__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
not that I am agreeing with this stuff but simply answering the question

if you look at your generators as resistors, one simple thing you could do is series several of them together. another alternative is to use a PWM which pulses the voltage thus giving it a lower average voltage input thus giving it a lower current draw.

also a good idea in doing all of this is to have some way (ammeter) to monitor the current draw.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Ahh. Thanks. So simple.

On a side note, I'm a skeptic as well... But am givin it a shot anyway.
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 05:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
if I were you (and I am not) I would go with the tried and true methods first. if you want to experiment afterwards, that's cool.

there are just so many people playing with HHO that are still running around with 20psi of air in their tires and with their grill exposed and they seem to be doing it in a gas guzzling car.

I say do the easy stuff first. get your mileage up there, sometimes way up there. after all of that, if you still want to play with or experiment with other things, have at it.

when I say easy stuff, please see "201 tips to save gas" at the top of the page. I don't agree with all of them but there is some good advice there.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 07:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
clamp on ammeters aren't cheap, especially if you get a good one (fluke). so if this isn't something you have lying around or readily accesible then all the profits of your HHO (if you ever see any) will be turned into equipment expenses.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:14 AM   #6
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
If you own your own business you can always write one off as a business expense. Just last week I bought an infared thermometer, which is an indespensible tool for troubleshooting bad steam traps at work, but has many other applications, like automotive and in the kitchen...

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Clamp on ammeters are $10 to $20 at Harbor Freight, but may only be able to measure AC amps with the clamp. I have one from there that I used to measure current draw on a bunch of servers. I added them up, sent the figure to the guy who needed it, and forgot about it until yesterday when I foudn a note from my predecessor about power usage...which said the same thing as my number. That's accurate enough for me.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:32 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,111
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to dkjones96
Regulating amperage is very wasteful. You want to regulate voltage.
__________________
- Kyle
dkjones96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 07:33 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
if you notice my first post, the responses I had suggested just that.

there again, not that I am agreeing with all of this HHO stuff.

also, if you don't adjust the overall resistance of the generator, then the lower current can only be achieved with lower voltage. ohms law is a slap in the face sometimes.

V = IR

*EDIT* on a side note, the equipment I use is very accurate and also application specific. a network analyzer that goes up to 20GHZ. of course I work for a company because a basline model costs somewhere around 50k. there are guys that contract out and I am sure they charge a lot just because of the equipment they have to carry.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 04:32 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
In reference to the deleted post:

i think "nice" is a relative term. the pwm that you are trying to sell looks like a college project using parts from radio shack. in fact, I believe I have just about all of those parts in my garage left over from some college projects that I worked on almost 10 years ago.

If I had to guess I would say that you are simply feeding the 12 volts through a chopping transistor and you have an ammeter on the setup. all in a neat little RADIO SHACK enclosure. If I were you, I would have went with the aluminum face plate. it makes it look more up-scale. so you could sell it for even more
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow server Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 09-15-2005 09:52 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.