Do you have/ use cruise control - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 12:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
kickflipjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 933
Country: United States
Do you have/ use cruise control

My car has cruise control but i rarely use it. There are roller hills on the freeway when i live (~100ft) and the cruise dosen't seem to work well in this enviroment.

I would use it if I had miles of flat/ semi-flat highway.
__________________

__________________
2008 EPA adjusted:


Distance traveled by bicycle in 2007= 1,830ish miles
Average commute speed=25mph (yes, that's in a car)
kickflipjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:07 PM   #2
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
I will be joining the world

I will be joining the world of Cruise Control sometime soon. My car did not come with it installed, but I'm planning on putting it in in a little while here.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Mine did not come with it,

Mine did not come with it, but I am trying to install what is more appropriately called a throttle control. All I want is something to hold throttle position, not maintain speed. I bought a cruise control servo motor on ebay but have not figured out to connect to the throttle. Once that is done I just need to apply current to the servo clutch solenoid and it will lock the throttle position in place. The wiring will also have to include the clutch and brake switches so that the throttle will be released when braking or pressing the clutch pedal.

Something I will get around to some day I guess. No hurry right now.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:28 PM   #4
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Mine did not come with it,

Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
Mine did not come with it, but I am trying to install what is more appropriately called a throttle control. All I want is something to hold throttle position, not maintain speed. I bought a cruise control servo motor on ebay but have not figured out to connect to the throttle. Once that is done I just need to apply current to the servo clutch solenoid and it will lock the throttle position in place. The wiring will also have to include the clutch and brake switches so that the throttle will be released when braking or pressing the clutch pedal.

Something I will get around to some day I guess. No hurry right now.
On my car the cruise control actuator attaches to the gas pedal. Newer cars attach directly to the throttle cable, which seems to make much more sense to me.

Just food for thought.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:43 PM   #5
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:Mine did not come with

Quote:
Mine did not come with it, but I am trying to install what is more appropriately called a throttle control. All I want is something to hold throttle position, not maintain speed. I bought a cruise control servo motor on ebay but have not figured out to connect to the throttle. Once that is done I just need to apply current to the servo clutch solenoid and it will lock the throttle position in place. The wiring will also have to include the clutch and brake switches so that the throttle will be released when braking or pressing the clutch pedal.

Something I will get around to some day I guess. No hurry right now.
You could get the wheel on the tb from an auto, swap it, and hook up a cable to the kickdown cable connection and hook that up to a switch. Switch it on and clamp the throttle wheel in position.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:52 PM   #6
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Quote:Mine did not come with

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
You could get the wheel on the tb from an auto, swap it, and hook up a cable to the kickdown cable connection and hook that up to a switch. Switch it on and clamp the throttle wheel in position.
you know what? THat's a great idea. It would be much better than swapping peddle assemblies and drilling a hole in my firewall. Maybe I'll go get a EX throttle wheel right now.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 02:55 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
kickflipjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 933
Country: United States
Quote:All I want is

Quote:
All I want is something to hold throttle position, not maintain speed.
Yeah that seems like it would work. That way the car dosent have to struggle to mantain 65 on an up grade.
__________________
2008 EPA adjusted:


Distance traveled by bicycle in 2007= 1,830ish miles
Average commute speed=25mph (yes, that's in a car)
kickflipjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:12 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:you know what? THat's

Quote:
you know what? THat's a great idea. It would be much better than swapping peddle assemblies and drilling a hole in my firewall. Maybe I'll go get a EX throttle wheel right now.
I have the wheel off the dx tb, I will test fit it on the z6 and if iut works send it out.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:45 PM   #9
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Quote:you know what? THat's

I just took a look at the EX TB wheel and I didn't get it. It spins the opposite direction and can't be used for cruise control.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:55 PM   #10
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Lemme look at mine and see.

Lemme look at mine and see.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphic idea MatrixDom Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 03-11-2012 01:17 PM
Average fuel mileage line in the history graph? BDC Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-06-2009 01:07 AM
Bug - multiple fillups on the same day NBtarheel33 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 02-17-2009 10:49 AM
speculate: Will a fixed IACV help gas mileage? SVOboy General Fuel Topics 8 04-09-2006 12:49 PM
What do you think of this layout? Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 11-22-2005 08:39 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.