Drafting with scangauge - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 11-08-2007, 01:23 PM   #1
Registered Member

Drafting with scangauge

had a chance today to draft a semi while using a scangauge. driving my wife's car(my car is not SGII compatible)gave me this opportunity. VERY interesting.

70mph avg ~29mpg no drafting. when drafting(i'm a truck driver, so i did so w/ mirror in view) again @ 70mph avg ~35mpg.

now, this is where it gets interesting. drafting, same speed, downhill(slight decline--not very hilly here), yeilded a high of 182mpg. WOW!

bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 01:58 PM   #2
Registered Member

Cool.
Thanks for the "hard numbers"!

I do draft sometimes when a good opportunity presents itself. I like drafting box trucks and buses; their back end goes lower to the ground than semis. I make sure to not get too close.

The tough part is, it usually requires some pedal work to stay appropriately close to draft the truck ahead. I make an effort to avoid going so fast that I end up with a reduced net mpg.

Hills - yeah. Once today I had to brake on a downhill because I was getting too close to the draftee up ahead.

Now driving '97 Civic HX; tires ~ 50 psi. '89 Volvo 240 = semi-retired.
brucepick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 02:05 PM   #3
Supporting Member

bowtieguy -

Yeah, downhill is VERY rewarding MPG wise. My imaginary perfect MPG freeway would have a Ferris Wheel scaled for cars on each end. You would get on the Ferris wheel, be rotated to the top, and would *always* be going downhill (if even only a gentle slope) the whole way. The other end of the freeway would have a Ferris Wheel for the opposite direction.

CarloSW2

What's your EPA MPG? https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 04:47 PM   #4
Registered Member